Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

Frequently Asked Questions "FAQ's"



  1. Does the Board of Pharmacy require a pharmacy technician to be certified?
    No. The Board of Pharmacy does not require that a pharmacy technician be certified.

  2. For each biennial license renewal period, pharmacists are to obtain three continuing education credits in pharmacy law. Does the Board have a list of continuing education courses that would satisfy this requirement?
    For the biennial renewal period commencing in May 2005 and thereafter, at least three C.E. credits shall be obtained in pharmacy law. The Board of Pharmacy has determined that any American Council of Pharmaceutical Education course ending in “03" will satisfy the law requirement.

  3. Can a pharmacist fill a prescription for a Schedule II controlled substance for more than 120 doses?
    According to State Board of Medical Examiners’ regulation N.J.A.C. 13:35 - 7.6(c)1, a practitioner may write a prescription for a Schedule II controlled substance that exceeds 120 dosage units if the patient is suffering pain from cancer, intractable pain or terminal illness. However, the quantity may not exceed a 30-day supply.

  4. Does a pharmacist-in-charge need to work 40 hours a week?
    According to N.J.A.C. 13:39 - 6.2(f), a registered pharmacist-in-charge shall be a full- time employee, employed for a minimum of 35 hours per week.

  5. If I am the only pharmacist working in a retail setting, can I take a meal break?
    According to N.J.A.C. 13:39 - 6.4, a sole pharmacist on duty may take a 30-minute meal break while on duty consistent with the following requirements:

    1. The pharmacist shall remain in the pharmacy or, in the case of a pharmacy department, in the pharmacy department building, and shall be accessible for emergencies or for counseling, if requested;

    2. The pharmacy shall remain open during the meal break for patient-related services, which include, but are not limited to, the following:

      1. The receipt of new written prescriptions; and

      2. The dispensing of prescription medications which have been checked by the pharmacist; and

    3. A sign shall be posted in the pharmacy stating “Pharmacist on meal break, but available for emergencies and counseling.”

  6. How can a licensee change his/her name on file with the Board?
    If a licensee legally changes the name under which he/she engages in the practice of pharmacy, the licensee must submit the original proof of the change of name or a certified copy of the court order or marriage certificate. If the licensee wants a new license with the name change, there is a $25 fee.

  7. How does a pharmacist obtain approval to administer vaccines?
    The pertinent application, with instructions and requirements, is posted on the Board’s Web site.

  8. Can a pharmacist fill a prescription written by a physician/prescriber in another state?
    A pharmacist may fill a prescription issued by a practitioner authorized to issue prescriptions in another state, territory or possession of the United States, including prescriptions issued at facilities within or outside of New Jersey that are regulated by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and/or the Department of Defense.

  9. How long does an applicant have to complete the application process?
    According to N.J.A.C. 13:39 - 6.2(f), a registered pharmacist-in-charge shall be a full- time employee, employed for a minimum of 35 hours per week.

  10. How are pharmacist applicants notified of their NAPLEX and MPJE scores?
    NAPLEX and MPJE scores are now available online. Applicants should go to the Board’s Web site, click on “useful links” and then click on the first item on the list. Scores will not be mailed out.

 

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: