Sign In
Skip to main content Open accessibility information page

New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy

Application Qualifications and Obtained by Methods


There are two (2) ways for an individual to obtain a Massage and Bodywork Therapist license. View the qualifications for each found below.

  1. Application for Licensure as a Massage and Bodywork Therapist
  2. This application is for individuals who have completed a course of study in massage and bodywork therapy that was at least 500 hours and who have passed either an examination offered by National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB); or the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) offered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FS​MTB).

    The 500 hours of education must have included:

    • 90 hours of anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology
    • ethics and law;
    • theory and practice;
    • electives related to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy;
    • and at least 100 hours of clinical practice under the supervision of a faculty member legally authorized to practice in the State in which the school exists.

    The course of study must be taken in a school accredited or approved by:

    • ​​the New Jersey Department of Education;
    • the New Jersey Department Labor and Workforce Development;
    • the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education;
    • or an agency of another state which substantially meets the requirements of the New Jersey Department of Education,
    • the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
    • or the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education.

    An applicant must arrange for their school to submit an official transcript directly to the Board. If the applicant is unable to arrange for his or her school to send transcripts because it is closed, the applicant can call (609) 292-2253 or submit a Student Record Request Form to see if the transcripts are available through the Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

    An applicant must arrange for their official examination scores to be sent directly to the Board from either the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) examination; or theFederation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) for the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) examination.

    ​ Be advised, all applicants applying for licensure must complete all requirements listed above AND the required Supervision Certification in lieu of Affidavit completed by a licensed massage and bodywork therapist who has supervised the required 100 hours of clinical practice pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37A-2.1 (d) (5).

    Click Here to Start Your Application


  3. ​​ ​Obtain by Endorsement

    ​This method of application is for individuals who are licensed or certified as a massage and bodywork therapist in another state. Applicants using this method shall arrange for every state, territory of the United States, or the District of Columbia in which the applicant was ever licensed or certified to submit directly to the Board verification of licensure or certification in good standing.

    Click Here to Start Your Application
​​
Last Modified: 8/31/2017 12:23 PM