
NEW JERSEY OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ADVISORY COUNCIL

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REINSTATING/RE-ACTIVATION

In accordance with the Uniform Enforcement Act, a professional or occupational license may be
reinstated, provided that the applicant otherwise qualifies for licensure, and complies with the
provisions of N.J.S.A.45: 1-7.2(a),(b),(c)and (d).  The necessary application and materials for
applying for reinstatement and /or re-activation are enclosed.

1.  Complete:     The enclosed application for reinstatement. attached to the documentation/fees   
                 listed  below.

2.  Submit the following documentation and fees accordingly to your category:

* Biennial Renewal Period (2015-2017) : 
Occupational Therapist  $ 160.00.
Occupational Therapy Assistant $ 100.00.

* Payment of a reinstatement fee; * (The reinstatement fee is $80.00 for both an
Occupational Therapist and Occupational Therapy Assistant)

* An affidavit of employment listing each job held during the lapsed licensure period. 
This affidavit of employment must include the names, addresses and telephone
numbers of each employer; 

*          “A notarized statement indicating if you were or were not engaged in the practice
of your profession or occupation in New Jersey during the period that your New
Jersey license was lapsed.  If you were practicing your profession or occupation
during this lapsed license period, you must include a description of the type of work
or projects that you were involved with” , and

* Completion of Criminal History Background Check.  
See enclosed instructions and form to be completed .

3)  Submit to: New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs 
Occupational Therapy Advisory Council
PO Box 45037
Newark, NJ 07101

Upon review and approval of your reinstatement application, a license will be issued.



New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ADVISORY COUNCIL
 

 APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT/REACTIVATION OF NEW JERSEY LICENSE

YOU MAY NOT PRACTICE IN THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY UNTIL YOUR LICENSE OR
CERTIFICATE IS REINSTATED.

The Council maintains, as part of its responsibilit ies, a record of your home address, business address and
mailing address.  You may choose which one of these addresses will be considered your “address of record”
subject to public disclosure. If you do not indicate (by putting a check in the appropriate box) which address
should be used as your address of record, your ma iling address will be consider ed to be your address of
record.  A post office box may  be used as your  address of record, but only if you provide another address
which includes a street, city, state and zip code.

NOTE: The Division is precluded by law from disclosing to the public the place of residence of its
licensees without their consent.  If you provide your place of residence as your public address of
record, we assume you have consented to its disclosuree. If you wish to use a different address as your
address of record, please notify the Council of the preferred address.  Note further that the Council will
address correspondence to your mailing address. You are reminded, therefore, to keep the Council
apprised of your current mailing address at all times.   This will assure that future renewal materials and
other important correspondence from the Council regarding professional practice will reach you in a
timely manner.

Information that you provide on this application may be subject to public disclosure as required by the Open
Public Records Act (OPRA). 

Please print clearly.  You must answer all of the questions on this application.  The application must
be notarized and accompanied by the enclosures noted on the instruction sheet and the total fee noted on
the enclosed invoice.

Personal Information:

9 Mr. 9 Mrs. 9 Ms.

Name_________________________________________________________________________

Address Information

9 Home_______________________________________________________________________

City, State, Zip _________________________________________________________________

Telephone Number____________________ E-mail address__________________
       Include area code (Indicate NA if you do not have an e-mail address.)



9 Business_____________________________________________________________________

City, State, Zip _________________________________________________________________

Telephone Number____________________ E-mail address__________________
       Include area code (Indicate NA if you do not have an e-mail address.)

9 Mailing_____________________________________________________________________

City, State, Zip _________________________________________________________________

Type of License/Certificate___________________ NJ License/Certificate Number___________

Initial License/Certificate Date___________________ Date of Last Renewal_____________
 

Answer all questions from the time period that you were last licensed in New Jersey.

1.Have you been arrested, charged or convicted of any crime or offense that you have not already reported
to your board/committee?  (Minor traffic offenses, such as  speeding or parking need not be provided but
Motor Vehicle offenses such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be disclosed.)

9Yes 9No

2.Has any action been taken or is any action now pending against your professional license or have you been
permitted to surrender or otherwise relinquish your license to avoid inquiry, investigation or action by any other
licensing authority that you have not already reported to your board/committee?  

9Yes 9No

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT

I,_________________________________, being duly sworn, depose and say under penalty of false statement,
I am the person described and identified in this application; that the information given in this application and
all submitted materials contain no willful misrepresentations and that the information is true and complete.  I
understand that should an investigation at any time disclose otherwise, my application may be rejected, and
I may face legal sanctions if I am already licens ed.  I under stand t hat in si gning this application for
reinstatement, I am consenting to any reasonable inquiry that may be necessary to verify the information I have
provided on this form or may provide in conjunction with this application.

_____________________________________ ______________________________
Applicant’s Full Signature Date

____________________________________ ______________________________
Notary’s Full Signature Date

Notary’s Commission Expires On:_______________



	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
New Jersey Office of the Attorney General

Division of Consumer Affairs
Occupational Therapy Advisory Council

P.O. Box 45037
Newark, New Jersey 07101

(973) 504-6570

 Certification and Authorization Form 
For a Criminal History Background Check 

Directions: Answer all of the questions on this form. 

1.	 Name	 __________________________________________________________  (_ ________________________)
	              Last                                                        First                                           Middle	 	 Maiden Name

2.	 Address ____________________________________________________________________________________________
	                                      Street or P.O. Box 	                                City	                    State	                     ZIP code 	

3.	 Date of birth __ __ /__ __ /__ __  	 Sex:	 	 Male	 	 Female	
                                                   Month	          Day            Year 	 	 	        

4.	 Social Security number __________/______ /_ ________
	                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

5.	 Have you completed the fingerprinting process for any Board or Committee of the New Jersey Division of Consumer 
Affairs since November 2003? 	 	 	 	 Yes	       No

	 If “No,” you will receive a separate mailing from the Board or Committee regarding the criminal history record background 
check process. No payment is necessary as of now.

	 If “Yes,” please provide the following information and follow the instructions outlined below:

	 ________________________________________________ 	 ________________________________________________
	                                      Board or committee requiring the fingerprinting                                                                                                                 Month and year you were fingerprinted

	 If you were fingerprinted after November 2003 as part of the criminal history background process for licensure or 
certification by any other Board or Committee of the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (a background check 
conducted for the Department of Education, another state agency or another state does not apply) you will not be required to 
be fingerprinted a second time. However, the Division must perform a criminal history background check each time you apply 
for licensure or certification. . Payment should be made in the form of a check or money 
order payable to the State of New Jersey and should accompany your application packet..

6.	 Have you ever been arrested and/or convicted of a crime or offense? (Minor traffic offenses such as a parking or speeding 
violations need not be listed.)	 	 	 	 Yes	       No	

	 Every such conviction on record must be disclosed. A true copy of every police report, judgment of conviction, sentencing 
	 order and termination of probation order, if applicable, must be submitted with this form. Any documents (including employer 
	 or supervisor letters of reference, if applicable) which present clear and convincing evidence of rehabilitation must be submitted 
	 with this form. Failure to follow these instructions may result in the denial of an initial application.
 
	 Note: Copies of judgments, sentencing and termination of probation orders may be obtained from the clerk of the county 
	 where those orders, disposing of the conviction, were issued and filed.
 
	 Your continuing responsibility to disclose convictions of crimes or offenses: You must notify the Board or Committee 
	 within five (5) business days if you are convicted of any crimes or offenses after this form has been completed. 

Continuation on the reverse side ➨

	 Mr.
	 Mrs.
	 Ms.

Board or Committee
________________________	

Official Use Only

   Resubmit
________________________

Official Use Only
   Dual License

License Type 1
________________________

Applicant’s Number
________________________

License Type 2
________________________

Applicant’s Number
________________________	



Certification

I,_ ______________________________________________, in making this application to the Board or Committee for 
certification or licensure, certify that I am the applicant and that all of the information provided in connection with this 	
application is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full 
disclosures may be deemed sufficient to deny certification or licensure or to withhold renewal of or suspend or revoke a certificate 
or license issued by the Board or Committee.

	
I voluntarily consent to a thorough investigation of my present and past employment and other activities for the purpose 	
of verifying my qualifications for certification or licensure. I further authorize all institutions, employers, agencies and all 
governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release any information, files or records 	
requested by the Board or Committee.

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. I am aware that if any of the foregoing statements made by me are 
willfully false, I am subject to punishment.

__________________________________________________________ 	 __________________________________	
                                                  Signature of applicant                                                                                                                                                                       Date

Rev. 
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