Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. TRAINEE APPRAISER PROGRAM

    1. How many times may a trainee appraiser renew his or her permit?
    2. Are trainee appraisers required to complete continuing education?
    3. Can a trainee appraiser have more than one supervising appraiser?
    4. Is the appraiser trainee program mandatory for someone seeking to become licensed or certified as an appraiser?

  2. Licensed and Certified Real Estate Appraisers

    1. How many hours of continuing education are required?
    2. What is the requirement for the course on the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (U.S.P.A.P.)?
    3. Will the seven-hour U.S.P.A.P. update course be applied towards the 28 hours of continuing education required in each biennial renewal period?
    4. Can I place my appraiser license or certification on "inactive" status?
    5. How do I file a complaint against an appraiser?


  1. TRAINEE APPRAISER PROGRAM

    1. How many times may a trainee appraiser renew his or her permit?
      (A) Three
      top

    2. Are trainee appraisers required to complete continuing education?
      (A)Trainee appraisers are required to complete 14 hours of continuing education by the time the renewal application is submitted to the Board for the third and fourth year that a trainee permit is held.
      top

    3. Can a trainee appraiser have more than one supervising appraiser?
      (A) Trainee appraisers may have more than one supervising appraiser. All supervising appraisers must submit a supervising appraiser form to the Board for each trainee appraiser under their supervision.
      top

    4. Is the appraiser trainee program mandatory for someone seeking to become licensed or certified as an appraiser?
      (A) No, the appraiser trainee program is a voluntary program for individuals in the process of acquiring appraisal experience required in order to be licensed or certified.
      top

  2. Licensed and Certified Real Estate Appraisers

    1. How many hours of continuing education are required?
      (A) Twenty eight hours of continuing education are required in each biennial renewal period.
      top

    2. What is the requirement for the course on the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (U.S.P.A.P.)?
      (A) The seven-hour U.S.P.A.P. update course is required every two years.
      top

    3. Will the seven-hour U.S.P.A.P. update course be applied towards the 28 hours of continuing education required in each biennial renewal period?
      (A) Yes.
      top

    4. Can I place my appraiser license or certification on "inactive" status?
      (A) Yes. You may request inactive status on the biennial renewal application or in writing to the Board at any time.
      top

    5. How do I file a complaint against an appraiser?
      (A) Complaint forms are available online or you may contact the Board office.
      top

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: