Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

Home Improvement Contractors

The information below pertains to the following license types:


Home Improvement Contractor
Renewal Fee   Branch Renewal Fee   **Expiration Date
$75   N/A   December 31, 2012
** If you renew after this date, a late fee of $25.00 will be added to your renewal fee.
  • Be advised that after February 1, 2013, you will not be able to renew on-line and must contact your licensing Board/Committee for reinstatement procedures and associated fees.
  • Be aware that it may take 10 – 15 business days to receive your license.
  • As of January 1, 2006, contractors must prominently display their registration number on all commercial vehicles and on all business documents and contracts as well as in correspondence with consumers and in all advertisements. They must also display their original registration renewal certificate in the place of business. In addition , contracts over $500 must be in writing and must contain certain terms which can be found in the statute and regulations available on www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/hicpacket.pdf.
  • You must have a copy of your Certificate of Commercial General Liability Insurance on file with the Division. If your insurance is canceled or not renewed at any time during the renewal cycle, you must file a copy of your new or replacement Certificate of Commercial General Liability Insurance with the Division before the former policy lapses. Failure to do so may result in action being taken against your registration. Mail a copy of your new Certificate of Commercial General Liability Insurance to the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, Regulated Business, Home Improvement Contractors, PO Box 46016, Newark, New Jersey 07101.
  • If you do not want to renew your registration, do not submit complete this renewal application. If you do not renew your registration, you cannot offer to perform, or engage, or attempt to engage in the business of making or selling home improvements in New Jersey.

By choosing a link below, I agree to the terms listed above.


   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: