Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Consumer Affairs Acting Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

Board of Nursing

The information below pertains to the following license types:

  1. Registered Professional Nurse - Active
  2. Registered Professional Nurse - Inactive Paid
  3. Licensed Practical Nurse - Active
  4. Licensed Practical Nurse - Inactive Paid
  5. Advanced Practice Nurse
  6. Forensic Nurse - CSA

Online Registration Tutorial Video


Online Renewal Tutorial Video



Registered Professional Nurse - Active
Renewal Fee   Branch Renewal Fee   **Expiration Date
$125   N/A   May 31, 2014
** If you renew after this date, a late fee of $50.00 will be added to your renewal fee.
  • Be advised that after July 1, 2014, you will not be able to renew on-line and must contact your licensing Board/Committee for reinstatement procedures and associated fees.
  • Be aware that it may take 10 – 15 business days to receive your license.
  • You will have the opportunity to renew your APN and/or Forensic nursing credential(s) on the Review Group segment of your RN renewal. Credentials that depend on your RN renewal are displayed here and you can select those that you wish to include in your renewal. If you have an active APN or Forensic nursing credential and you do not see it in the Review Group segment of your  renewal, please contact the Board of Nursing at 973-273-8040.
  • During this years renewal, the Board requests your participation in an optional workforce data survey. Responding to these brief 28 questions is important, as it will provide information that will support the provision of safe and quality nursing care.
  • Continuing Education (CE): Under N.J.A.C.13:37-7.8 and N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, Advanced Practice Nurses, Registered Nurses (including Forensic Nurses-CSA) and Licensed Practical Nurses are required to complete 30 contact hours of continuing professional education every two years. These courses must be offered by an approved provider. Retain proof of course completion in the event that the Board requests it for audit purposes. First time APNs (including those with anesthesia specialty who were formally CRNAs) are not required to complete continuing education and should answer "yes" to this question. Inactive status licensees are exempt from the CE requirement, however, compliance with the CE requirements will be necessary in order to make a change from inactive to active status.
  • Be advised that an email address is required by the Division's Payment Processor, NIC USA.

By choosing a link below, I agree to the terms listed above.


Registered Professional Nurse - Inactive Paid
Renewal Fee   Branch Renewal Fee   **Expiration Date
$65   N/A   May 31, 2014
** If you renew after this date, a late fee of $50.00 will be added to your renewal fee.
  • Be advised that after July 1, 2014, you will not be able to renew on-line and must contact your licensing Board/Committee for reinstatement procedures and associated fees.
  • Be aware that it may take 10 – 15 business days to receive your license.
  • During this years renewal, the Board requests your participation in an optional workforce data survey. Responding to these brief 28 questions is important, as it will provide information that will support the provision of safe and quality nursing care.
  • Continuing Education (CE): Under N.J.A.C.13:37-7.8 and N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, Advanced Practice Nurses, Registered Nurses (including Forensic Nurses-CSA) and Licensed Practical Nurses are required to complete 30 contact hours of continuing professional education every two years. These courses must be offered by an approved provider. Retain proof of course completion in the event that the Board requests it for audit purposes. First time APNs (including those with anesthesia specialty who were formally CRNAs) are not required to complete continuing education and should answer "yes" to this question. Inactive status licensees are exempt from the CE requirement, however, compliance with the CE requirements will be necessary in order to make a change from inactive to active status.
  • Be advised that an email address is required by the Division's Payment Processor, NIC USA.

By choosing a link below, I agree to the terms listed above.



Licensed Practical Nurse - Active
Renewal Fee   Branch Renewal Fee   **Expiration Date
$125   N/A   May 31, 2014
** If you renew after this date, a late fee of $50.00 will be added to your renewal fee.
  • Be advised that after July 1, 2014, you will not be able to renew on-line and must contact your licensing Board/Committee for reinstatement procedures and associated fees.
  • Be aware that it may take 10 – 15 business days to receive your license.
  • During this years renewal, the Board requests your participation in an optional workforce data survey. Responding to these brief 28 questions is important, as it will provide information that will support the provision of safe and quality nursing care.
  • Continuing Education (CE): Under N.J.A.C.13:37-7.8 and N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, Advanced Practice Nurses, Registered Nurses (including Forensic Nurses-CSA) and Licensed Practical Nurses are required to complete 30 contact hours of continuing professional education every two years. These courses must be offered by an approved provider. Retain proof of course completion in the event that the Board requests it for audit purposes. First time APNs (including those with anesthesia specialty who were formally CRNAs) are not required to complete continuing education and should answer "yes" to this question. Inactive status licensees are exempt from the CE requirement, however, compliance with the CE requirements will be necessary in order to make a change from inactive to active status.
  • Be advised that an email address is required by the Division's Payment Processor, NIC USA.

By choosing a link below, I agree to the terms listed above.



Licensed Practical Nurse - Inactive Paid
Renewal Fee   Branch Renewal Fee   **Expiration Date
$65   N/A   May 31, 2014
** If you renew after this date, a late fee of $50.00 will be added to your renewal fee.
  • Be advised that after July 1, 2014, you will not be able to renew on-line and must contact your licensing Board/Committee for reinstatement procedures and associated fees.
  • Be aware that it may take 10 – 15 business days to receive your license.
  • During this years renewal, the Board requests your participation in an optional workforce data survey. Responding to these brief 28 questions is important, as it will provide information that will support the provision of safe and quality nursing care.
  • Continuing Education (CE): Under N.J.A.C.13:37-7.8 and N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3, Advanced Practice Nurses, Registered Nurses (including Forensic Nurses-CSA) and Licensed Practical Nurses are required to complete 30 contact hours of continuing professional education every two years. These courses must be offered by an approved provider. Retain proof of course completion in the event that the Board requests it for audit purposes. First time APNs (including those with anesthesia specialty who were formally CRNAs) are not required to complete continuing education and should answer "yes" to this question. Inactive status licensees are exempt from the CE requirement, however, compliance with the CE requirements will be necessary in order to make a change from inactive to active status.
  • Be advised that an email address is required by the Division's Payment Processor, NIC USA.

By choosing a link below, I agree to the terms listed above.



Advanced Practice Nurse
Renewal Fee   Branch Renewal Fee   Expiration Date
$160   N/A   May 31, 2014
  • Be advised that after July 1, 2014, you will not be able to renew on-line and must contact your licensing Board/Committee for reinstatement procedures and associated fees.
  • Be aware that it may take 10 – 15 business days to receive your license.



Forensic Nurse - CSA
Renewal Fee   Branch Renewal Fee   Expiration Date
$100   N/A   May 31, 2014
  • Be advised that after July 1, 2014, you will not be able to renew on-line and must contact your licensing Board/Committee for reinstatement procedures and associated fees.
  • Be aware that it may take 10 – 15 business days to receive your license.

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: