Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

Application for Licensure by Practical Examination

Requests for an application for licensure are accepted by phone (973) 504-6500, fax (973) 648-3355 and letter by writing to the Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, PO Box 45020 Newark, NJ 07101. Applicants must:

  1. Request an application for a review of credentials from the Board office;
  2. Complete the application for a review of credentials and have it notarized;
  3. Submit the following:
    1. A completed application for a review of credentials;
    2. The filing fee for a review of credentials (a certified check or money order for $75 made payable to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners);
    3. Two passport-size photographs (head and shoulder shot) taken within the last six months;
    4. A passing grade (with a minimum score of 70) on the National Board Examination (NBE) within 10 years preceding an application being sent through the Veterinary Information Verifying Agency (VIVA);
    5. A passing grade (with a minimum score of 70) on the Clinical Competency Test (CCT) within 10 years preceding an application being sent through the Veterinary Information Verifying Agency (VIVA); or passing grade (with a minimum score of 70) on the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE);and
    6. An official transcript of veterinary school credits forwarded, directly to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners by the college/university, containing:
      1. The signatures of college officials on the transcript;
      2. The official stamp of the college/university; and
      3. A verified English translation if the transcript is in a language other than English.

      Make sure the school is accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA). If the school is not accredited, the applicant must complete Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) training before being eligible to sit for the practical examination. The applicant also must submit:

    7. Proof of a doctoral degree in veterinary medicine from a college/university accredited by the AVMA, or

      If all but the last portion of the last semester of a veterinary college or university accredited by the AVMA is completed, the applicant must submit directly to the Board notification that he/she is to be awarded a degree in veterinary medicine at the next graduation, or

      If the applicant is a graduate of an ECFVG program, he /she must submit notification that the applicant has satisfactorily completed the program, and this notification should be forwarded directly to the Board by the ECFVG office.

    8. Verification from every state in which an applicant is or has been licensed, verifying that the applicant holds or held a valid, unsuspended and unrevoked license to practice which verification must be received directly from each state board.

  4. When the file is complete, the applicant will receive an application to sit for the next scheduled examination. The application must be completed and a $250 exam fee (certified check or money order - made payable to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners) must be received at least 60 days prior to the exam.

  5. When the applicant passes the practical exam he/she will receive an application for initial licensure. This application must be completed and returned to the Board with the appropriate fee for initial licensure.

    A candidate who has failed the practical exam must wait five years from the date of the failed exam before applying for a license by waiver of examination (jurisprudence exam).

    Credentials records with no activity for a period of two years from the last date that the applicant participated in an exam will not be accepted for filing. Applicants are required to submit new records and to pay the required filing fee.

If you have any questions or need additional information, contact the Board at (973) 504-6500.

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: