Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader

Application for Licensure by Waiver of Examination (Jurisprudence Application)

The State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners ("Board") will waive the practical examination if the applicant:

  1. has possessed, for a minimum of five years immediately preceding the submission of an application, a valid, unsuspended and unrevoked license to practice veterinary medicine after examination by another state (or the District of Columbia) which has education and examination requirements equivalent to those required for licensure in New Jersey;
  2. has had active clinical experience of a type acceptable to the Board for three of the five years immediately preceding application;
  3. has passed the National Board Examination (NBE); and the Clinical Competency Test (CCT); or the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE); with a grade of 70 or better; and
  4. presents no basis for concern as to competency or fitness for licensure and otherwise qualifies for licensure pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:16-6.

Anyone qualifying under this provision for licensure by waiver of the practical examination is required to successfully complete the jurisprudence examination with a grade of 70 or better.

Applicants must:

  1. Request an application for a review of credentials from the Board office. Requests for applications for licensure are accepted by phone (973) 504-6500, fax (973) 648-3355 and by letter sent to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, P.O. Box 45020, Newark, N.J. 07101;

  2. Complete the application for a review of credentials and have it notarized;

  3. Submit or have submitted to the Board, the following:

    1. a completed application for a review of credentials;
    2. a filing fee for a review of credentials - a certified check or money order for $75 made payable to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners;
    3. two passport-size photographs (head and shoulders shot) taken within the last six months;
    4. proof of a passing grade (70) on the NBE within 10 years preceding application being sent through the Veterinary Information Verifying Agency (VIVA);
      E) proof of a passing grade (70) on the CCT within 10 years preceding application being sent through VIVA; or proof of a passing grade (70) on the NAVLE; and
    5. an official transcript of veterinary school credits, forwarded directly to the Board by the college/university, containing:
      1. the signatures of college officials;
      2. the college/university stamp; and
      3. if the transcript is in a language other than English, a verified English translation;

  4. Make sure the school is accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA). If the school is not accredited, the applicant must complete the Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) training before being eligible to sit for the practical exam;

    (If the applicant is a graduate of an ECFVG program, notification that the applicant has satisfactorily completed the program should be forwarded directly to the Board by the ECFVG office.)

  5. Submit verification from every state in which the applicant is or has been licensed, verifying that he/she holds or held a valid, unsuspended and unrevoked license to practice from the state board(s);

  6. Submit a statement of good standing from any other entity that authorizes the applicant's practice of veterinary medicine, e.g., the Racing Commission. The applicant shall notify the Board in the event that his/her privilege to practice veterinary medicine was ever suspended or revoked by any authority;

  7. Submit three notarized certifications of experience, submitted directly by veterinarians actively licensed and practicing in the same jurisdiction(s) for which the experience is being certified. Each certification shall:

    1. be on professional letterhead;
    2. state the exact dates of the period being certified;
    3. indicate the type of experience acquired, i.e., bovine, exotic, equine or small animal;
    4. provide certification as to the applicant's moral character;
    5. provide a critical evaluation of the applicant's ability to practice with a professional recommendation for licensure;
    6. indicate the applicant has held, for a minimum of five years immediately preceding the submission of an application, a valid unsuspended and unrevoked license to practice veterinary medicine issued after examination by another state or District of Columbia, which has education and examination requirements substantially equivalent to those required for licensure in New Jersey;
    7. indicate that the applicant has had active clinical experience of a type acceptable to the Board for three of the five years immediately preceding application;
    8. indicate the applicant has passed the NBE and the CCT with a grade of 70 or better;
    9. indicate the applicant presents no basis for concern as to competency or fitness for licensure and otherwise qualifies for licensure pursuant to N.J.S.A 45:16-6; and
    10. submit an examination fee of $250 (certified check or money order made payable to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners).

    When the exam application is complete, the Board will vote on whether to approve the application. If the board approves the application, the applicant will be sent an application for the opportunity to sit for the jurisprudence examination and will then be notified of the place and time of the examination.

    When the applicant passes the jurisprudence examination, he/she will receive an application for initial licensure. The applicant must complete and return that application with the appropriate fee for initial licensure.

    Credentials records with no activity for a period of two years from the last date that the applicant participated in an examination will not be accepted for filing. The applicant shall be required to submit new records and to pay the required filing fee.

If you have any questions or need additional information, contact the Board at (973) 504-6500.

   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: DCA Home | Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: