54 N.J.R. 1415(a)

VOLUME 54, ISSUE 14, JULY 18, 2022

RULE ADOPTIONS

Reporter

54 N.J.R. 1415(a)

NJ - New Jersey Register > 2022 > JULY > JULY 18, 2022 > RULE ADOPTIONS > LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY -- DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Agency

LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY > DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS > NEW JERSEY BOARD OF NURSING

Administrative Code Citation

Adopted New Rules: N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.4 and 14.18

Text

Power of Attorney and Loan Ban

Proposed: February 22, 2022, at 54 N.J.R. 336(a).

Adopted: June 3, 2022, by the Board of Nursing, Barbara B. Blozen, Ed.D, M.A., RN, President.

Filed: June 22, 2022, as R.2022 d.094, without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 45:11-24.

Effective Date: July 18, 2022.

Expiration Date: January 24, 2025.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:

The official comment period ended April 23, 2022. No comments were received.

Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the adopted new rules do not involve any Federal standards or requirements.

Full text of the adoption follows:

- SUBCHAPTER 5. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS OF LICENSURE; LICENSE RENEWAL; FEE SCHEDULE
 - 13:37-5.4 Power of attorney; financial misconduct
- (a) A licensee or certificant shall not have power of attorney over a patient or former patient.
- (b) A licensee or certificant shall not accept a monetary loan from a patient or former patient.
- (c) Any time a licensee or certificant is given money in an amount greater than \$ 50.00, or a gift valued at greater than \$ 50.00, directly by a patient, a patient's family, or a patient's quardian, the licensee or certificant must document:
 - 1. The amount of money or value of the gift;
 - 2. The date the gift was provided; and
- 3. The name and signature of the patient, patient's family member, or patient's quardian who provided the gift.
- (d) The documentation required at (c) above shall be maintained by the licensee or certificant and be provided to the Board upon request.
- (e) Failure to comply with (a), (b), (c), or (d) above shall be deemed professional misconduct pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e).

SUBCHAPTER 14. HOMEMAKER-HOME HEALTH AIDES

- 13:37-14.18 Power of attorney; financial misconduct
- (a) A certified homemaker-home health aide shall not have power of attorney over a client or former client.
- (b) A certified homemaker-home health aide shall not accept a monetary loan from a client or former client.
- (c) Any time a certified homemaker-home health aide is given money in an amount greater than \$ 50.00, or a gift valued at greater than \$ 50.00, directly by a client, a client's family, or a client's guardian, the certified homemaker-home health aide must document:
 - 1. The amount of money or value of the gift;
 - 2. The date the gift was provided; and
- 3. The name and signature of the client, client's family member, or client's quardian who provided the gift.

- (d) The documentation required at (c) above shall be:
- 1. Signed by the certified homemaker-home health aide and a representative of the agency that employs the homemaker-home health aide;
- 2. Maintained by the agency that employs the homemaker-home health aide; and
 - 3. Provided to the Board upon request.
- (e) Failure to comply with (a), (b), (c), or (d) above shall be deemed professional misconduct pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:1-21(e).

NEW JERSEY REGISTER

Copyright © 2022 by the New Jersey Office of Administrative Law

End of Document