New Jersey State Cemetery Boara

Application Process Overview




New Jersey State Cemetery Board

* Issues licenses for cemetery sales personnel and certificates of
authority

« Regulates cemetery companies that are not considered religious
corporations

* Investigates complaints and takes disciplinary action




How Do | Get an Application Form?

(W ) The State of New Jersey ruiome servicesaz Deparments / Agencies @ufmnrmnm-nqcuml OACHome  Agencies [ Programs / Units

 Applications can be downloaded
from the Board’s website at:
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http://www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/cem/

Board ome New Jersey Cemetery Board

Applications and Forms

&1 Application and Information Sheet for Certificate of Authority

H Annual Report of Maintenance and Preservation Fund and Other Funds

Laws and Regulations

License Verification

Frequently Asked Questions




Application Process for Cemetery Salesperson

1. Cemetery salesperson applications are submitted through the
employing cemetery

2. Application fee must be submitted with the application
3. Upon application review fingerprint instructions will be forwarded

4. Submit additional information (as required)




Application Process for Certificate of Authority

1. Applications are submitted to the Board for review
2. Application fee must be submitted with the application

3. All documentation as per N.J.A.C.13:44J-13.1 must be submitted
with the application

4. All approvals from municipalities must be completed prior to
submittal of application to Board

5. Submit additional information (as required)




Application Questions

Applications are approved pending the results of the Criminal
History background check

Child Support obligations must not be in the arrears

Cemetery applicants must disclose prior employment in cemetery
sales

Cemetery salespersons are prohibited from selling memorials,
private mausoleums or vaults




Criminal History Background Check «#5¢)

You must complete the “Certification and Authorization FornT as
part of the application

You will receive a letter with instructions on how to schedule an
appointment to have your fingerprints digitally recorded

Go online to schedule an appointment and pay the fee directly to
the MorphoTrust




Criminal History Background Check “Tips”

 This can be the longest part of the application process

« You can schedule an appointment as soon as you receive the
notice to schedule

« Processing time is 7-10 days after the digital scan




Initial Licensing Fee

«  Once your application has been approved you will receive an
approval letter

« Upon receipt of approval letter you must forward the appropriate
licensing fee




Keeping Your License Current

Licenses are valid for 2 years
All licenses are renewed at the time of the biennial renewal

You must keep your contact information current with the Board to
receive renewal notices

Renewal forms are forwarded to the employing cemetery

Renewals are completed online with payment of required renewal
fee




Where Do | Send Mail for the
New Jersey Cemetery Board?

Mailing Address:

Physical Address:

New Jersey Cemetery Board
P.O. Box 45036
Newark, NJ 07101

New Jersey Cemetery Board
124 Haley Street
Newark, NJ 07102




Tips for the Application Process

Mail the application with as much supporting information as
possible

Read the application carefully to ensure all supporting
documentation is submitted with the application

Use the P.O. Box to mail items to the Board

T you answer “yes” to any of the questions, submit as many details
as possible




Useful Websites

New Jersey Cemetery Board

www.INJConsumerAfiairs.qov/cem

License Verifications
www.\NJConsumerAfiairs.gov/Pages/licensingboards.aspx




