New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling

Application Process Overview




How Do | Get an Application Form?

Applications can be downloaded from the Board’s website at:
http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/cos/Pages/applications.aspx
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What are you looking For?

'

Board Home New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and
Members Hairstyling

Disciplinary Actions Applications and Forms

Meetings

Initial Applications

- Application for Authorization ta 5it for the Examination and For Licensure
- Application for Licensure by Endorsement

Top Tips For License Applicants

Laws and Regulations Temporary Permits

Licensee Information + Application fer a Temporary Permit

License Verification

[Reactivate a License or Regi:

Frequently Asked Questions .
+ Application For Reinstatement

Useful Links + Application to Reactivate an Inactive License

Request a List -




NJ Private School Students

Students must enroll in a licensed school of cosmetology.

2. Reqister as a student with the Board

. Complete half of the required training and submit a student permit
application

. With student permit, complete your remaining hours of training.

. Your school will assist you in registering for the written examination

0. Submit an application along with all supporting documentation and

your passing written examination scores




Transferring a License From Another State?

1. Contact the State Board where you are currently licensed to have
them submit a certification of your current and active license
directly to this Board.

2. Contact the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and
Hairstyling to confirm receipt of the certification from your home
state.

a) A representative will review your certification to determine if you
qualify to apply for endorsement or if you must apply for examination.

b) The Board will instruct you as to which application is appropriate
based on your certification.

C) If you do not have access to the internet and a printer, be prepared to
provide mailing information to the Board office so that we may send
you the appropriate application.

3. Complete the application, providing all documentation
requested in the application and submit it to the Board for
review.




Transferring Licensees

If the license the license you hold in another state does
not meet the requirements in this state, you may be asked
to seek additional training.

d.  This does not mean that you have to start over. A licensed
school in the State of New Jersey may evaluate the training
you received.

You must hold a current and active license in order to
transfer a license into New Jersey. The Board will not
accept hours, diploma, or certificates. Hours completed
in a licensed school in another state must be
transferred to a licensed school in New Jersey:.

Work experience must be in a licensed salon in the
State in which you hold or held a license within the last
five years.

If the State in which you are currently licensed does not
require a practical examination, you will not qualify for
endorsement.




Application Fees

* Application for examination fee:

» $50 application fee

» $90 licensing fee in the first year of a license cycle

» $45 licensing fee in the second year of a license cycle
* Application for endorsement fee:

» $100 application fee

» $90 licensing fee in the first year of a license cycle

» $45 licensing fee in the second year of a license cycle
* Payable by check or money order
> NO CASH/NO CREDIT




Communication

* Ifyou get a letter from the Board — read it

* |If the Board asks for you to respond to it — do /it in a timely
Jashion (duty to cooperate)

* If you move, change your name — contact the Board and
update your information




Tips for the Application Process

*  Mail the application with as much supporting information
as possible

* Use the PO. Box to mail items to the Board

® Submit as much information as possible, if you answer
“yes» to any of the questions




Salon Licensing

Fax a letter of request for salon license or call the Board office to
request and application. Indicate where you would like the
application to be sent. This fax must include the services being
provided in the salon.

» Examples include:
* Hair salon or barber shop — Full Service
* Manicuring salon
* Skin care salon

» If providing both manicuring and skin care services, this would
be considered full service and must include a hair station

Fax number is (973) 504-6477 attention shop section
Phone number is (973) 504-6400 ask for shop section




Salon Licensing

e stos facility.

The following documentation must be submitted with your
application:

» For Corporations or Limited Liability Company (LLC):

* Copy of Lease or Deed

* Corporation Formation Documentation

* Federal Employer ldentification Number (Tax ID) Document
* Certificate of Occupancy

* Zoning Permit

* Certificate of Fire Inspection

* Copy of Manager's signed Wall License with Photo Affixed

If a salon was located in the facility prior to your ownership,
please provide a notarized letter stating that there were no
transactions between tenants for the sale of the equipment and
provide a bill of sale for the equipment purchased for the




Salon Licensing

The following documentation must be submitted with your
application:

» For Partnerships and Sole Proprietorships:

* Copy of Lease or Deed

* Federal Employer Identification Number (Tax ID) Document
* Certificate of Occupancy

® Zoning Permit

* Certificate of Fire Inspection

* Registration of Salon Name with your County Clerk

* Copy of Manager’s Signed Wall License with Photo Affixed

If a salon was located in the facility prior to your ownership, please
provide a notarized letter stating that there were no transactions between
tenants for the sale of the equipment and provide a bill of sale for the
equipment purchased for the facility.




Salon Licensing

All applications must be submitted with the appropriate fees.
The cost is:

» $350.00 in the first year of a licensing cycle

» $250.00 in the second year of a licensing cycle
* Salon licenses renew every two years in July of even years.

Once you have completed your application, you may mail it to
the Board office with all of the documentation listed above or you
may bring the completed application to the Board office and have
it reviewed by a staff member in your presence. Keep in mind that
applications are processed in the order in which it is received.
The earlier you arrive in the day, the earlier your application will
be processed.




Salon Inspection

O All salons must be inspected prior to the issuance of a license.

» Make sure the salon is ready for operation on the date of the inspection.

O If your grand opening is scheduled on a specific date, please
allow ample time for your application to be processed and an
inspection to be completed.

O In the event of State office closures or inclement weather, any
inspections scheduled may be subject to cancellation. An
inspector will contact you to reschedule at the earliest available
time.

O The Board office is not permitted to give out inspector contact
information.




Where Do | Send Mail for the
New Jersey Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling?




Keeping Your License Current

O Licenses are valid for 2 years

O Every individual license expires in September of even-numbered
years

O You must keep your address current with the Board to receive
renewal notices

O Renewals are done online and require a renewal fee




Useful Links

New Jersey Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
htto.//www.njconsumeratiairs.qov/cos

Application Status and Renewals
www.\NJConsumerAfiairs.gov/Pages/licensingboards.aspx

License Verifications
www.\NJConsumerAfiairs.gov/Pages/licensingboards.aspx




