
New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy

Helpful Information Regarding the 
Application Process



Applications can be downloaded from the Board’s website at
www.NJConsumeraffairs.gov/mbt/Pages/applications.aspx

Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy

No one may practice as a
massage therapist without
being duly licensed to do so.
A pending application is not a
license to practice massage
and bodywork therapy.



When Should I Begin the Application Process?

You can begin the application process when you have successfully completed 
a massage and bodywork therapy program of at least 500 hours and have 
successfully passed either the exam given by The National Certification Board 
for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB), or The Federation of 
State Massage Therapy (FSMTB) Boards’ exam (MBLEx).  



Applying for Licensure as a Massage and 
Bodywork Therapist

Requirements for a Massage Application:
A completed application form, signed and notarized, with a 2x2 passport style photo. 

Completion of a course of study in massage and bodywork therapy of at least 500 hours. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37A-2.1(d), the 
500 hours shall include the following:
1. At least 90 hours of anatomy/physiology/pathophysiology
2. Ethics and Law
3. Theory and Practice (in-class instruction as to massage and bodywork theory and modalities and in-class demonstration and

practice of massage and bodywork modalities).
4. Electives directly related to the practice of massage therapy; and
5. At least 100 hours of clinical practice which is supervised by a faculty member who is present on-site while services are being

performed and is either a licensed massage and bodywork therapist or is legally authorized to perform massage and
bodywork in the state in which the school exists.

The Massage and Bodywork Therapy school must be accredited by one of the following: 
1. The New Jersey Department of Education;
2. The New Jersey Department Labor and Workforce Development;
3. The New Jersey Commission on Higher Education; or
4. An agency of another state which substantially meets the requirements of the New Jersey Department of Education, 

the New  Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development or the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education;



Applying for Licensure as a Massage and 
Bodywork Therapist (Continued)

Requirements for a Massage Application (Continuced)

All applicants applying for licensure by Education must also have their school complete 
the required Supervision Certification in lieu of Affidavit completed by a licensed 
massage and bodywork therapist who has supervised the required 100 hours of clinical 
practice pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37A-2.1 (d) (5).

The form can be found at:
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/mbt/Applications/Supervising-Faculty-Member-Certification.pdf

All transcripts and supervision certifications must be sent directly from the school in an 
official sealed envelope. 



Applying for Licensure as a Massage and 
Bodywork Therapist (Continued)

Requirements for a Massage Application (Continuced)

Passing the one of the following examinations pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37A-2.1(2):

The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) 
The Federation of State Massage Therapy (FSMTB) Boards’ exam (MBLEx).  

• Information regarding the NCBTMB Exam:
www.ncbtmb.org/take-board-certification-exam

• Information regarding the MBLEx Exam given by the FSMTB
www.fsmtb.org/mblex/
(Information on the MBLEx, including the candidate handbook) 



Requirements for a Massage Application (Continuced)

CPR:

Applicants must submit current certification in CPR, Firstaid and use of an automated
external defibrillator (AED) from approved courses pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:37A- 2.1(b)(4).

Please review the regulations at www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/mbt for current approved
providers.

Verifications of other licenses:

If you hold another license of any kind in any state, including New Jersey, you must
arrange for that state to send written or electronic verification of status of licensure or
certification from every state, territory of the United States, or the District of Columbia, in
which the applicant was ever licensed or certified. The verification shall either be
forwarded directly to the Board from the applicable state board or committee, if written
or, if electronic, issued by the applicable state board or committee.

Applying for Licensure as a Massage and 
Bodywork Therapist (Continued)



Criminal History Background Check

• You must complete the “Certification and Authorization Form” as part of the
application.

• You will receive a letter with instructions on how to schedule an appointment
to have your fingerprints digitally recorded.

• Go online to schedule an appointment and pay the fee directly to the
MorphoTrust.

• Applicants who do not live in the State of New Jersey may receive fingerprint
cards with a letter requesting that they complete a criminal history background
check. The letter includes an option to make an appointment in New Jersey for
a live-scan at a MorphoTrust facility. The Board office receives the results of a
criminal history background check faster if the applicant completes a live-scan
at a MorphoTrust facility in New Jersey.



Criminal History Background Check

• If an applicant has ever been arrested, it makes the
process faster if the applicant provides a written
statement of the arrest(s), the police report(s), court
documents and a copy of the disposition(s) of the
arrest(s) with their application.

• The fee on the Certification and Authorization form
does not apply to every applicant. Do not send this
fee if you Do Not hold a license or certification by
any Board or Committee of the New Jersey
Division of Consumer Affairs. Do not send this fee
if you are unsure. The Board office will notify you if
it is needed.



Fees

What is the application fee?
The application fee is $75.00, non-refundable fee.

What is the fee for a massage therapy license?
If a massage and bodywork therapist applicant is eligible for a license during the first year of the biennial
renewal period the fee for a license is $120.00.

If a massage and bodywork therapist applicant is eligible for a license during the second year of the biennial
renewal period the fee for a license is $60.00.

The biennial cycle ends on November 31st of every even year.

You must keep your address and email address current with the Board.
You must complete your continuing education requirement prior to the renewal expiration date.

Once an applicant is determined to be eligible for a license, the New Jersey State Board of Massage and
Bodywork Therapy will notify the applicant and at that time the applicant can submit the licensure fee. Please
do not send the fee prior to notification.



Useful Links on the Website of the 
New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy

Laws and Regulations
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/pt/Pages/regulations.aspx

Checking Application Status
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/Pages/licensingboards.aspx

Frequently Asked Questions
www.NJConsumeraffairs.gov/mbt/Pages/FAQ.aspx

Verifying a License
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/Pages/verification.aspx

Renewing a License
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/mbt/Pages/applications.aspx



Where Do I Send Mail for the 
New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy?

Mailing Address
New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy

P.O. Box 45048
Newark, NJ  07101

Email
MassageTherapy@dca.lps.state.nj.us

Phone Number
(973) 504-6520


