
New Jersey State Board of Optometrists

Application Process Overview



• License qualified individuals

• Regulates the practice of optometry

• Investigates complaints and takes disciplinary action

New Jersey State Board of Optometrists



License to Practice

• No one may practice as a registered optometrist without a current, active 
license

• You worked hard to complete your educational program, but you cannot 
practice unless you have a license

• Once you get your license, you need to keep it active and in good 
standing



License to Practice

• How do you get a license?

• How do you keep a license in good standing?



When Should I Begin the Application Process?

• Start Early!

• Right now would be a good time.



How Do I Get an Application Form?

Applications can be downloaded from the Board’s website at:
http://www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/opt/



Application Process

1. Submit an application for a license

 $125 application fee (when applying for OM and OA at the same time)

 $250 for Optometry License (OA)

 $250 for Oral T.P.A. License (OM)

2. Receive fingerprint instructions and jurisprudence exam

3. Schedule a time to submit your fingerprints

4. Submit additional information as it calls for on the application



Active vs. Inactive-paid

• Active License - you have a place of work
 Along with your application, submit to the board the address at which you have been promised 

work

 Include the names and license numbers of the other optometrists/ ophthalmologists at that place 
of work

• Inactive - you have a license but have not been promised a place of work in NJ

 Registration fee is $100 / $50 



Application Fees

• Application Fee: 

o $125

o Payable by check or money order

o NO CASH



Application Questions

• Moral Character – Arrests/Convictions

• Student Loans

• Child Support

• Ability to Practice – Physical/Cognitive

• Use of Illegal Chemical Substances



Jurisprudence Orientation

• FREE

• Helps you understand that regulations exist, what they say, and where to 
find them

• Exam will be mailed to you

• Statutes and Regulations are available on the Board’s website: 
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/opt

• Remember to review the statutes, regulations and uniform regulations



Criminal History Background Check

• You must complete the “Certification and Authorization Form” as part of 
the application 

• You will receive a letter with instructions on how to schedule an 
appointment to have your fingerprints digitally recorded

• Go online to schedule an appointment and pay the fee directly to the 
MorphoTrust.



Criminal History Background Check “Tips”

• This can be the longest part of the application process

• You can schedule an appointment as soon as you receive the notice to 
schedule

• Processing time is approximately 7-10 days after the digital scan



Initial Registration Fee

• Once your application has been approved you will receive an “Initial 
Registration Form”

• You must verify the information and return with the appropriate fee:
 $250 for active status if between May 1st of every odd year and Feb. 20th of every even year
 $125 for active status if between May 1st of every even year through Feb. 20th of every odd 

year



Keeping Your License Current

• Licenses are valid for 2 years

• Every optometrist license expires in May of odd-numbered years

• You must keep your address current with the Board to receive renewal 
notices

• Renewals are done online and require a renewal fee for both your OA and 
OM licenses



Continuing Education

• You must complete your continuing education prior to renewal 
(May 31 of every odd-numbered year)

• Registered Optometrists must complete 50 credits during each two-year 
period

 30 of the 50 must consist of Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents (TPA) credits
 10 of the 30 must consist of oral TPA credits

• You may be able to complete less continuing education during the first 
period in which you are licensed.



Communication

• If you get a letter from the Board – read it

• If the Board asks for you to respond to it – do it in a timely fashion (duty to 
cooperate)

• If you move, change your name, start working in a new location – contact 
the Board and update your information



Where Do I Send Mail for the 
New Jersey State Board of Optometrists?

Mailing Address: New Jersey State 
Board of Optometrists
P.O. Box 45012
Newark, NJ  07101

Physical Address:    New Jersey State 
Board of Optometrists
124 Haley Street
Newark, NJ 07101



Tips for the Application Process

• Make sure you complete both the Optometry and Oral T.P.A. Certification 
Licenses

• Mail the application with as much supporting information as possible

• Be clear about what name(s) appear on your application and supporting 
documents

• Use the P.O. Box to mail items to the Board

• Submit as much information as possible, if you answer “yes” to any of the 
questions



Useful Links

Board of Optometrists
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/opt

Application Status
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/Pages/licensingboards.aspx

License Verifications
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/Pages/licensingboards.aspx


