BEWARE OF Ticket Sale Sca



consumer *brief*

The Internet has made it easier than ever to score hard-to-find tickets for sports events or concerts. But the web also makes it easier for scammers to charge high prices for tickets that turn out to be fake – or simply take your payment without ever sending the tickets you intended to buy.

PROTECT YOURSELF WHEN BUYING EVENT TICKETS

- Consumers should thoroughly check the reputation of any ticket vendor, and any websites that broker ticket sales, before making a purchase. Look for online consumer reviews and remember that reviews on the vendor's own site may not be reliable.
- Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs at 800-242-5846 (toll free within New Jersey) or 973-504-6200 to learn whether the seller has been the subject of consumer complaints. Consider using the various consumer protection services that may be offered on the ticket seller's website, such as escrow, insurance, and the verification and rating of sellers.
- Some ticket broker websites offer to refund or replace your tickets if they turn out to be counterfeit or are otherwise rejected by the venue. Learn whether such a guarantee is being offered.
- Learn about the tickets before you buy. Ask for the ticket's original face value. Ask for the section, row and seat number; this will help determine whether the ticket actually exists and whether it has an obstructed view. Ask for a photo of the ticket, if one is available.
- Make sure you fully understand all terms of the sale before you buy. What are the seller's policies for returns, refunds or cancellations? Will you receive a refund if the ticket is not delivered on time?

- Be sure to pay by credit card, rather than by checks, money orders or wire transfers, or cash. Using a credit card will make it easier to dispute failed purchases.
- Save all of your transaction information, including print-outs of the website pages and emails.

NEW JERSEY'S TICKET BROKER LAW

Under New Jersey's law regarding ticket sales (N.J.S.A. 56:8-26 to 56:8-38):

ONLY A TICKET BROKER may resell a ticket for more than 20 percent above the price paid to acquire the ticket (or \$3 above the price paid to acquire the ticket, whichever is greater), plus lawful taxes.

Any seller WHO IS A TICKET BROKER MAY NOT resell tickets for more than 50 percent above the price paid to acquire the tickets, plus lawful taxes.

However, there is no limit to the price that can be charged for tickets if the tickets are sold ONLINE and the seller is NOT A TICKET BROKER.



800-242-5846 • New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov

