Sign In
Skip to main content Open accessibility information page

Press Release


For Immediate Release:
July 30, 2015

Office of The Attorney General
John J. Hoffman, Acting Attorney General

Division of Consumer Affairs
Steve C. Lee, Acting Director

Division of Law
Michelle Miller, Acting Director
  For Further Information and Media Inquiries:
Jeff Lamm
(973) 504-6327

New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs Cites 17 Commercial Autobus ("Jitney") Operators for Alleged Violations of "Angelie's Law"

Bill of Rights for Customers of Certain Autobuses Act

NEWARK – The New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs has issued Notices of Violation to 17 commercial autobus owners for failure to post public notices on the outside and inside vehicles about how passengers can report complaints and concerns to the Division. These commercial autobuses are commonly known as "jitneys," "commuter vans," or "commuter buses."

Autobuses operating on public roads and carrying up to 40 passengers must have interior and exterior notices directing passengers to report service complaints to the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs. The Division's telephone number must also be provided. These notices are required under "Angelie's Law," a state law enacted in memory of Angelie Paredes, who was killed in July 2013 in connection with an accident caused by an autobus driver who was using his cell phone while driving.

"All travelers using commercial autobuses must be assured of their safety, as the law requires," Acting Attorney General John J. Hoffman said. "Companies operating these autobuses must be in full compliance with Angelie's Law, and we will do all we can to make sure that these companies are protecting their riders by being in full compliance."

"Each commercial autobus must post a notice informing riders of how to report service and safety complaints," said Steve Lee, Acting Director of the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs. "This requirement, among others, is designed to protect the safety of both riders and the general public."

Acting Director Lee also noted that in February 2015, the Division of Consumer Affairs issued a consumer alert about the public notice requirement of Angelie's Law and also mailed an advisory letter to commercial autobus owners.

The 17 commercial autobus operators issued notices of violation, along with the town or city where each is based, are as follows:

spacer Emelys Transportation, LLC North Bergen
  Hasan Tamimi   Haledon
  Community Lines, Inc. Jersey City
  Azael Alvarado Jersey City
  Marina Transit Corp.  Belleville
  Walter Carranza  Jersey City
  Boulevard Lines, Inc.  Ridgefield
  Victor Lara aka VL Services North Bergen
  Orlando Villanuevazurita West New York
  Amigo Transit, LLC   Carteret
  Samuel Salgado  North Bergen
  Ekramy Elgendy  Union City
  Jose Rodriguez  West New York
  Luis Portalatinmendoza  Union City
  Joseph Transporte, Inc.  Union City
  Claudio Paguay      West New York
  NV Bus Service, Inc.   North Bergen

Each company, except for NV Bus Service, was cited for one non-compliant vehicle and issued a notice of violation imposing a $1,000 civil penalty and $176.87 for the State's investigative costs. NV Bus Service was cited for three non-compliant vehicles and one driver who did not have the proper license for transporting passengers. The company was issued a $4,000 civil penalty and $503.61 for the State's investigative costs.

Lead Investigator Roger Hines and Investigators Oscar Mejia, Jessica Lugo, and Brittany Kieran, under the direction of Team Leader Murat Botas, in the Office of Consumer Protection in the Division of Consumer Affairs, conducted the vehicle inspections. Deputy Attorney General Cathleen O'Donnell in the Division of Law's Consumer Fraud Prosecution Section is representing the State in these matters.

The Hudson County Office of Consumer Affairs and the New Jersey State Police Motor Coach Compliance and Safety Unit participated in the inspections, along with the cooperation of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey Police Commercial Vehicle Inspection Unit.

To learn more about Angelie’s Law, go to www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/angelieslaw.

Consumers who believe they have been cheated or scammed by a business, or suspect any other form of consumer abuse, can file an online complaint with the State Division of Consumer Affairs by visiting its website or by calling 1-800-242-5846 (toll free within New Jersey) or 973-504- 6200.

Follow the Division of Consumer Affairs on Facebook , and check our online calendar of upcoming Consumer Outreach events.

###

Last Modified: 4/23/2019 9:24 AM