STATE OF NEW JERSEY
New Jersey State Board of Dentistry

Application Process Overview




Board of Dentistry

« License qualified individuals

« Regulates the practice of dentistry, dental hygiene and
dental assisting

« |nvestigates complaints and takes disciplinary action




License to Practice

« No one may practice as a registered dental assistant
without a current, active license

« You worked hard to complete your educational program,
but you cannot practice unless you have a license

« Once you get your license, you need to keep it active and
in good standing




License to Practice

« How do you get a license?

« How do you keep a license in good standing?




When should | begin the application process?

« Start Early!

« Right now would be a good time.




How do | get an application form?

NEW JERSEY DIVISION OF

DCONSUMER AFFAIRS

« Applications can be
downloaded from the
Board’s website at:
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www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/den | .7 New Jersey State Board of Dentistry
. . ! S
et Applications and Forms
Iembers
Dentist Applications

Meetings + Application for a Dental License
Actions (Disciplinary & Other) » Application for Resident Permit

« Request for Branch Office Registration
Top Tips for License Applicants Dental Hygienist Applications
Laws and Regulations « Application for Dental Hygiene License

& » Application for Local Anesthesia Permit
License Verification

Frequently Asked Questions Dental Assistant Applications
Useful Links « Application for Dental Assistant License
Reguesta List
Reinstate/Reactivate a License or Registration

Incident Report Form
+ Application to Reinstate/Reactivate a License or Registration

Change-of-Address Form
Contact Us Dentistry Incident Report

+ Incident Report Form




Application Process

Submit an Application ($35)

Send supporting documents to the Board
Receive fingerprint instructions

Schedule a time to submit your fingerprints
Complete the NJ Orientation Program
Submit additional information (as required)

Submit Registration Form ($90 / $45)




Application Fees

« Application Fee:
0 $35
o Payable by check or money order
o0 NO CASH




Application Questions

« Moral Character (arrests / Convictions)

Student Loans

Child Support

Ability to Practice (physical / Cognitive)

« Use of Illegal Chemical Substances




Jurisprudence Orientation

FREE
Offered online (available 24/7)

Helps you understand that regulations exist, what they
say and where to find them

Statutes and Regulations are available on the Board's
website: NJConsumerAffairs.gov/den

Remember to review the statutes, regulations and




Criminal History Background Check (cHBC)

* You must complete the “Certification and Authorization
Form” as part of the application

* You will receive a letter with instructions on how to
schedule an appointment to have your fingerprints
digitally recorded

« Go online to schedule an appointment and pay the fee
directly to the MorphoTrust.




CHBC “Tips”

« This can be the longest part of the application process

« You can schedule an appointment as soon as you receive
the notice to schedule

« Processing time is 7-10 days after the digital scan




Initial Registration Fee

« Once your application has been approved you will
receive an “Initial Registration Form”

« You must verify the information and return with the
appropriate fee ($90 / $45)




Keeping Your License Current

Licenses are valid for 2 years

Every registered dental assistant license expires in
December of even-numbered years

You must keep your address current with the Board to
receive renewal notices

Renewals are done online and require a renewal fee
(currently $90)




Continuing Education

* You must complete your continuing education prior to
renewal (December 31 of every even-numbered year)

« Registered dental assistants must complete 10 credits
during each two-year period (5 may be done as “self-study”)

« You may be able to complete less continuing education
during the first period in which you are licensed




Communication

« |fyou geta letter from the Board (read it)

 |f the Board asks for you to respond to it—doitin a
timely fashion (duty to cooperate)

 |f you move, change your name, start working in a new
location (contact the Board and update your information)




Where Do | Send Mail for the
New Jersey Board of Dentistry?

Mailing Address:

Physical Address:

New Jersey Board of Dentistry

P.O.Box 45005
Newark, NJ 07101

New Jersey Board of Dentistry

124 Haley Street
Newark, NJ 07102




Tips for the Application Process

« Mail the application with as much supporting information
as possible

« Be clear about what name(s) appear on your application
and supporting documents

Use the P.O. Box to mail items to the Board

Submit as much information as possible, if you answer
“yes” to any of the questions




Useful Websites

Board of Dentistry
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/den

Application Status
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/Pages/licensingboards.aspx

License Verification
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/Pages/licensingboards.aspx




