

New Jersey Office of the Attorney General

Division of Consumer Affairs State Board of Medical Examiners Electrologists Advisory Committee 124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45041 Newark, New Jersey 07101 (973) 504-6377

Instructions for Reinstatement

In accordance with the Uniform Enforcement Act, a professional or occupational license or certificate of registration may be reinstated, provided that the applicant otherwise qualifies for licensure, registration, certification and complies with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 45:1-7.4. The necessary application and materials for applying for reinstatement are enclosed.

Please Note: An individual that has been expired for 5 or more years must contact the Committee for reinstatement instructions.

1. Submit:

- a. A completed application for reinstatement.
- b. The **employment history** that includes every job you held during the period that your New Jersey license or certificate was not in active status. The list must include each employer's name, address and telephone number. You must also indicate whether you were practicing your profession or occupation during the period your license was suspended.
- c. Proof that you have completed **continuing education courses** for the immediately preceding renewal period. Acceptable proof would include, but is not to be limited to, a copy of your course completion certificates. If you were licensed to practice and are in good standing in another state, proof of completion of that state's continuing education requirement may be accepted by the Board
- d. If you have held a license in another state during this period of suspension, you are also required to submit a **certification of licensure in good standing** from all states in which you are or have been licensed to practice electrology.
- e. A completed **Certification and Authorization form** for a criminal history background check.

2. Enclose:

Expiration date	Fees	Total fee required
October 31, 2021	Reinstatement fee: \$ 150.00 Renewal fee: \$ 200.00 Criminal History Background: \$ 18.75	\$ 368.75
October 31, 2019 (Renewal periods prior to 2017)	Reinstatement fee: \$150.00 Renewal fee: \$400.00 Criminal History Background: \$18.75	\$ 568.75

3. Mail to:

State Board of Medical Examiners Electrologists Advisory Committee P. O. Box 45041 Newark, NJ 07101

Upon review and approval of your reinstatement application and approved criminal history results, a license or certificate will be issued.

Attach a clear, full-face passport-style photograph ($2^{"}x 2^{"}$) of your head and shoulders, taken within the past six months.

A photograph is required with each application.

Do not use staples to attach the photograph.



New Jersey Office of the Attorney General Division of Consumer Affairs State Board of Medical Examiners Electrologists Advisory Committee 124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45041 Newark, New Jersey 07101 (973) 504-6377

Application to Reinstate a License as an Electrologist

You may not practice in the State of New Jersey until your license or certificate is reinstated.

N.J. License/Certificate No.:_____ Type of License/Certificate: _____

Initial License/Certificate Date: ______Year of last renewal: _____

A nonrefundable reinstatement fee (see instructions page) in the form of a check or money order made out to the State of New Jersey, must be submitted with this application. (Applicants should understand that if the fees are paid with a personal check, and the check is returned by the bank due to insufficient funds, the next step in the reinstatement process will be delayed until the fees are paid.)

The Division is precluded by law from disclosing to the public the place of residence of licensees or applicants, without their consent. However, you are required to provide an address that may be released to the public in our directories or in response to other requests (by putting a check in the appropriate box). If you provide your place of residence as your public address of record, we will assume that you have consented to have that address be disclosed. If you do not consent to the disclosure of your place of residence, you should provide an address of record other than your place of residence that may be released to the public. One of your addresses must include a street, city, state and ZIP code.

Information that you provide on this application may be subject to public disclosure as required by the Open Public Records Act (OPRA).

Please print clearly. You must answer all of the questions on this application.

Personal Information				Date of birth:			Year	
1. 1	Name 🗆	Mr. Mrs. Ms.	Last name	First name	Middle initial	(Maiden name)
2. /	Address:							
	∃ Hom	e:	t or P.O. Box	City	State	ZIP code	County	
			Telephone number (include a	rea code)		E-n	nail address	
	□ Busir	ness:	Name of company			Telephone nur	nber (include area code)	
			Street	City	State	ZIP code	County	
	⊐ Maili	ng:	t or P.O. Box	City	State	ZIP code	County	

3. Social Security Number

You **must** provide your Social Security number to the Board or Committee. Failure to do so will result in denial/nonrenewal of licensure or certification.

*Social Security Number: ______- - ______

*Pursuant to <u>N.J.S.A</u>. 54:50-24 <u>et seq</u>. of the New Jersey taxation law, <u>N.J.S.A</u>. 2A:17-56.44e of the New Jersey Child Support Enforcement Law, Section 1128E(b)(2)A of the Social Security Act and 45 <u>C.F.R</u>. 60.7,60.8 and 60.9, the Board or Committee is required to obtain your Social Security number. Pursuant to these authorities, the Board or Committee is also obligated to provide your Social Security number to:

- a. the Director of Taxation to assist in the administration and enforcement of any tax law, including for the purpose of reviewing compliance with State tax law and updating and correcting tax records;
- b. the Probation Division or any other agency responsible for child support enforcement, upon request; and
- c. the National Practitioner Data Bank and the H.I.P. Data Bank, when reporting adverse actions relating to health care professionals.
- 4. Citizenship / Immigration Status

Federal law limits the issuance or renewal of professional or occupational licenses or certificates to U.S. citizens or qualified aliens. To comply with this federal law, check the appropriate box below which indicates your citizenship/immigration status. If you are not a U.S. citizen, attach a copy of your alien registration card (front and back) or other documentation issued by the office of U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

- U.S. citizen
- □ Alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in U.S.
- □ Other immigration status

Questions about your immigration status and whether or not it is a qualifying status under federal law should be directed to the USCIS at: 1-800-375-5283.

5. Child Support (You must answer a, b, c and d.)

Please certify, under penalty of perjury, the following:

a.	Do you currently have a child-support obligation?	Yes	No
	(1) If "Yes," are you in arrears in payment of said obligation?	Yes	No
	(2) If "Yes," does the arrearage match or exceed the total amount payable for the past six months?	Yes	No
b.	Have you failed to provide any court-ordered health insurance coverage during the past six months?	Yes	No
c.	Have you failed to respond to a subpoena relating to either a paternity or child-support proceeding?	Yes	No
d.	Are you the subject of a child-support-related arrest warrant?	Yes	No

In accordance with <u>N.J.S.A.</u> 2A:17-56.44d, an answer of "Yes" to any of the questions a(1) through d will result in a denial of licensure or certification. Furthermore, any false certification of the above may subject you to a penalty, including, but not limited to, immediate revocation or suspension of licensure or certification.

6. Illegal Use of Controlled Dangerous Substances

The question below pertains to the illegal use of controlled dangerous substances. Please read the definitions carefully. Your responses will be treated confidentially and retained separately. Please be aware that you have the right to elect not to answer this question if you have reasonable cause to believe that answering may expose you to the possibility of criminal prosecution. In that event, you may assert the Fifth Amendment privilege against self-incrimination. Any claim of Fifth Amendment privilege must be made in good faith. If you choose to assert the Fifth Amendment, you must do so in writing. You must fully respond to all other questions on the application. Your application for licensure or certification will be processed if you claim the Fifth Amendment privilege against self-incrimination. You should be aware, however, that you may later be directed by the Attorney General to answer a question that you have refused to answer on the basis on the Fifth Amendment, provided that the Attorney General first grants you immunity afforded by statutory law, (N.J.S.A. 45:1-20).

"Currently" does not mean on the day of, or even in the weeks or months preceding the completion of this application. Rather, it means recently enough so that the use of drugs may have an ongoing impact on one's functioning as a licensee, or within the previous 365 days, whichever is longer.

"Illegal use of controlled dangerous substance" means the use of a controlled dangerous substance obtained illegally (e.g. heroin or cocaine) as well as the use of controlled dangerous substances which are not obtained pursuant to a valid prescription or not taken in accordance with the directions of a licensed health care practitioner.

a. Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of controlled dangerous substances? (As stated above, "currently" is defined as "recently enough... [to] have an ongoing impact..." or "within the previous 365 days," whichever is longer.)

🗆 Yes 🗆 No

If you answered "Yes," are you currently participating in a supervised rehabilitation program or professional assistance program that monitors you in order to assure that you are not engaging in the illegal use of controlled dangerous substances?

🗆 Yes 🗆 No

Applicant's signature

Date

- 7. Have you ever changed your name? If "Yes," please submit with this application a copy of the marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order.
- 8. Have you ever been summoned; arrested; taken into custody; indicted; tried; charged with; admitted into pre-trial intervention (P.T.I.); or pled guilty to any violation of law, ordinance, felony, misdemeanor or disorderly persons offense, in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction? (Parking or speeding violations need not be disclosed, but motor vehicle violations such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be.)
- 9. Have you ever been convicted of any crime or offense under any circumstances? This includes, but is not limited to, a plea of guilty, non vult, nolo contendere, no contest, or a finding of guilt by a judge or jury.

If "Yes," provide a copy of the judgment of conviction and the release from parole or probation. Please provide a complete explanation (Attach additional sheets of paper to this application.)

10. Do you currently hold, or have you ever held, a professional or occupational license or certificate of **any** kind in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?

If "Yes," for each license or certificate held, provide the date(s) held and the number(s). If the license or certificate was issued under a different name, please provide that name.

		Last name	First name	Middle initial
Type of license or certificate	Number	State or jurisdiction that	issued the license or certificate	Date issued/expired
Type of license or certificate	Number	State or jurisdiction that	issued the license or certificate	Date issued/expired
Type of license or certificate	Number	State or jurisdiction that	issued the license or certificate	Date issued/expired

- 11. Have you ever been disciplined or denied a professional or occupational license or certificate of any kind in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?
- 12. Have you ever had a professional or occupational license or certificate of any type suspended, revoked or surrendered in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?
- 13. Has any action (including the assessment of fines or other penalties) ever been taken against your professional or occupational practice by any agency or certification board in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?
- 14. Have you ever been named as a defendant in any litigation related to the practice of electrology or other professional or occupational practice in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?

🗆 Yes 🛛 No

- 15. Are you aware of any investigation pending against a professional or occupational license or certificate issued to you by a professional board in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction? \Box Yes \Box No
- 16. Are there any criminal charges now pending against you in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?
- 17. Have you ever been sanctioned by or is any action pending before any employer, association, society, or other professional or occupational group related to the practice of electrology or other professional or occupational practice in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?

If the answer to any of the above questions, numbers 11 through 17, is "Yes," provide a complete explanation of the circumstances leading to the action, and any supporting documentation, on separate sheets of paper.

Continuing Education

Please list all of the courses that you have successfully completed since your license expired or became inactive.

of Hours	<u>Sponsor</u>	Subject Matter	<u>Title</u>	Date

Employment since your license expired (You may photocopy this page if necessary.)

Employer's name:	
Employer's address:	Street
	Street
City State Immediate supervisor's name:	ZIP code
Employer's telephone number:	Hours per week:
Your major responsibilities (use additional sheets of paper if nece	
Dates employed: from: to:	month day year
Employer's name:	
Employer's address:	Street
City State Immediate supervisor's name:	ZIP code
Employer's telephone number:	Hours per week:
(Include area code) Your major responsibilities (use additional sheets of paper if nec	
Dates employed: from: to:	month day year
Employer's name:	
Employer's address:	Street
City State	ZIP code
Immediate supervisor's name:	
Employer's telephone number:(Include area code)	
Your major responsibilities (use additional sheets of paper if nece	essary):
Dates employed: from: to:	month day year
Applicant's name (Please print)	Applicant's signature Date

CERTIFICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT/REACTIVATION APPLICATION

I, _______, in making this application to the Board or Committee for reinstatement/reactivation of my license or registration, certify that I am the applicant and that all of the information provided in connection with this application is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient to deny reinstatement/reactivation or to withhold renewal of or suspend or revoke a license or registration issued by the Board or Committee.

I voluntarily consent to a thorough investigation of my present and past employment and other activities for the purpose of verifying my qualifications for reinstatement/reactivation. I further authorize all institutions, employers, agencies and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release any information, files or records requested by the Board or Committee.

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. I am aware that if any of the foregoing statements made by me are willfully false, I am subject to punishment.

Signature of applicant

Date

Official Use Only Dual License License Type 1	ST THE STATES	Official Use Only
Applicant's Number	New Jersey Office of the Attorney General Division of Consumer Affairs	Board or Committee
License Type 2	State Board of Medical Examiners Electrologists Advisory Committee P.O. Box 45041	
Applicant's Number	Newark, New Jersey 07101 (973) 504-6377	
	Certification and Authorization For For a Criminal History Background Ch	

Directions: Answer all of the questions on this form.

1.	Name \square Mr. \square Mrs. \square Ms.	Last	First	Middle	() Maiden Name
2.	Address	Street or P.O. Box	C	ity	State	ZIP code
3.	Date of birth /	_/ Sex:	Male	Female		
4.	Social Security number	//				
5.	Have you completed the Affairs since November		ess for any B o	ard or Committe	e of the New Jerse	

If "No," you will receive a separate mailing from the Board or Committee regarding the criminal history record background check process. No payment is necessary as of now.

If "Yes," please provide the following information and follow the instructions outlined below:

Board or committee requiring the fingerprinting

Month and year you were fingerprinted

If you were fingerprinted after November 2003 as part of the criminal history background process for licensure or certification by any other **Board or Committee of the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs** (a background check conducted for the Department of Education, another state agency or another state does not apply) you will not be required to be fingerprinted a second time. However, the Division must perform a criminal history background check each time you apply for licensure or certification. **The fee for this service is \$18.75.** Payment should be made in the form of a check or money order payable to the State of New Jersey and should accompany your application packet.

6. Have you ever been arrested and/or convicted of a crime or offense? (Minor traffic offenses such as a parking or speeding violations need not be listed.)

Every such conviction on record must be disclosed. A true copy of every police report, judgment of conviction, sentencing order and termination of probation order, if applicable, **must** be submitted with this form. Any documents (including employer or supervisor letters of reference, if applicable) which present clear and convincing evidence of rehabilitation **must** be submitted with this form. **Failure to follow these instructions may result in the denial of an initial application.**

Note: Copies of judgments, sentencing and termination of probation orders may be obtained from the clerk of the county where those orders, disposing of the conviction, were issued and filed.

Your continuing responsibility to disclose convictions of crimes or offenses: You must notify the Board or Committee within five (5) business days if you are convicted of any crimes or offenses after this form has been completed.

Continuation on the reverse side \blacktriangleright

CERTIFICATION

I, _______, in making this application to the Board or Committee for certification or licensure, certify that I am the applicant and that all of the information provided in connection with this application is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient to deny certification or licensure or to withhold renewal of or suspend or revoke a certificate or license issued by the Board or Committee.

I voluntarily consent to a thorough investigation of my present and past employment and other activities for the purpose of verifying my qualifications for certification or licensure. I further authorize all institutions, employers, agencies and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release any information, files or records requested by the Board or Committee.

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. I am aware that if any of the foregoing statements made by me are willfully false, I am subject to punishment.

Signature of applicant

Date