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(973) 504-6245

Sponsorship Application for Continuing Education Checklist

Please utilize the following checklist when submitting a Sponsorship Application for Continuing Education.  Failure to submit 
all required information and documentation may delay application processing. 

	 	 A complete application that includes the following:

		  	 Sponsor name, association or organization. 

		  	 Contact information of sponsor, including address, telephone number, e-mail address, and fax number.

		  	 Name of contact person.

		  	 Course or seminar title and hours for each course you plan to offer.  Note that breaks and Q&A periods are 
not counted towards class time.

		  	 Detailed description for each course or seminar you plan to offer.

		  	 Name(s) of instructor(s) for each course or seminar.

	 	 Resume of instructor(s) for each course or seminar.  The qualifications listed on the resume must match the 
course or seminar that is being offered.  

	 	 If you are an existing sponsor with the Committee, please provide your current sponsor number ______________ .

	 	 $100 continuing education sponsorship fee payable to the “State of New Jersey.”  Checks and money orders 
should be mailed immediately upon submitting application to:

Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm, and Locksmith Advisory Committee
P.O. Box 45042

Newark, NJ 07101

	 	 E-mail completed application and supporting documentation to ElecCE@dca.lps.state.nj.us.

Please be advised that complete applications and fees must be submitted to the Committee at least 60 days prior to the date the 
course or seminar is scheduled to begin.
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Dear Candidate for C.E. Sponsorship:

A licensee will be required to have completed 24 continuing education credits (hours) during the triennial cycle (September 
1, 2013 through August 31, 2016) prior to renewal of licenses in 2016.  The 24 hours are required for each license you hold - 
Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and/or Locksmith; however, licensees shall not be required to complete continuing education (C.E.) 
requirements for the triennial registration period in which they initially received a license.

The 24 hours of continuing education must consist of the following mandatory requirements for all licensees:

	 a. 	 A minimum of two (2) continuing education credits per triennial registration period in the Barrier Free Subcode, 
N.J.A.C. 5:23-7. 

	 b. 	 A minimum of two (2) continuing education credits in the New Jersey Uniform Contruction Code, N.J.A.C. 5:23, 
exclusive of the Barrier Free Subcode. 

	 c. 	 A minimum of two (2) continuing education credits in the  Americans with Disabilities Act Code, 36 C.F.R. Section 1191. 
	 d.	 A minimum of two (2) continuing education credits in Industrial Safety.
	 e.	 A minimum of two (2) continuing education credits in New Jersey law and rules governing the provision of burglar 

alarm, fire alarm and locksmithing services.

		  and . . . “A licensee seeking renewal of a Burglar Alarm License shall have . . .”		

	 f. 	 A minimum of three (3) continuing education credits in Smoke Detection Systems.

All licensees shall obtain the balance of continuing education credits in trade-related/business subjects.

For individuals holding multiple Committee-issued licenses, the 10 mandatory credits noted above will count towards the 
requirement of 24 credits for each license held.  To illustrate, 24 credits, including the 10 mandatory credits, are required for 
the first license held.  If a licensee holds a second or third license, then 14 additional trade-related/business credits are required 
for each of those licenses.  Thus, in the aggregate, a holder of a single license must earn 24 total C.E. credits, a holder of two 
licenses must earn 38 total C.E. credits, and a holder of three licenses must earn 52 total C.E. credits during the triennial cycle.  
Additionally, a licensee who completes more than the minimum continuing education credits set forth above in any triennial 
registration period may carry no more than eight (8) of the additional credits into a succeeding triennial period.

The entire regulation for continuing education, N.J.A.C. 13:31A-1.12, can be viewed and/or downloaded from this website.

Below is an Application for Continuing Education Course/Seminar Approval.  Please provide all of the information requested; 
note that this application will hold a total of four specific courses but, if that is not enough room to include all of the courses you 
wish to teach, the application may be reproduced.  For each course you must provide the course title, a brief course description 
and the instructor’s name.  You are also requested to provide information relating to the length of the course/seminar.  Be sure 
to attach a detailed course outline for each course/seminar you wish to teach and a copy of the resume/curriculum vitae for 
each instructor you list.

Please note that a sponsor is required to submit a Continuing Education Program Sponsor fee ($100.00) with his/her application, 
N.J.A.C. 13:31A-1.4.  Your certified check or money order should be made payable to “State of New Jersey.”  Whether you are 
seeking the Committee’s approval for one course or numerous courses, only one check for $100.00 is required, but only if you 
submit all of your courses for approval at the same time.  In other words, if you come back to the Committee one month or 
one year from now with additional courses for which you are seeking approval, you will be required to pay another Continuing 
Education Sponsor Fee ($100.00).  This “all at one-time submission” concept is to encourage sponsors to submit everything 
at one time so that the Committee can review the entire package.  Your check/money order must be included with your 
Application for Continuing Education Course/Seminar/Approval.

To avoid delay, please review your application and your entire submission for completeness.  Please feel free to contact the 
Committee’s office if you have any questions regarding the application process for teaching continuing education courses.

Thank you for your interest in teaching continuing education courses.  We look forward to hearing from you.
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Sponsorship Application for Continuing Education

Instructions

1.	 Print your sponsor name clearly. This could be your natural name, an organization or association name, or a name 
that you have chosen for your sponsorship group.

2.	 Print clearly your street address and your city, state and ZIP code.

3.	 Print clearly the name of the contact person for your sponsorship.  It could be yourself or someone else who will 
be taking on this responsibility.

4.	 Provide a telephone number (include area code) where interested parties may contact you.  Also, please provide 
a fax number, an e-mail address and any other contact information you want to provide.  If any of this requested 
information is not available, just write “N/A.”  However, we must have a telephone number.

5.	 Provide a short title for the course or seminar you plan to offer along with the anticipated number of instructional 
hours you expect the course/seminar to last.

6.	 Attach a course description to this application.  You are required to include with this application a detailed course/
seminar outline in which you have incorporated the course/seminar content.  This must be done for every course/
seminar you are submitting for consideration and approval.

7.	 List the instructor or instructors who will be teaching this particular course/seminar.  You must include a resume/
curriculum vitae for each instructor you anticipate will be teaching one or more of your courses/seminars.  Instructors 
will be assigned an instructor number.

8.	 The application allows for four courses to be submitted; however, you may copy the application for any additional 
courses/seminars that you may want to submit for consideration and approval.

9.	 Send your application with all of the supporting documentation to the Committee’s address at the top of this page.  
Include your continuing education sponsorship fee of $100.00 made payable to the “State of New Jersey.”  You may 
submit one course or numerous courses with your original submission; the fee will still be $100.00.  However, each 
time you change or add courses or instructors after receiving sponsorship approval, you will be required to submit 
another application and an additional $100.00.

10.	 If you have any questions  and/or concerns about the Continuing Education Program that has been put in place for 
licensees of the Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and Locksmith Advisory Committee, please call the Committee’s office 
at 973-504-6245, for clarification and assistance.

We welcome your participation in the
Continuing Education Program!
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Sponsorship Application for Continuing Education

Course/Seminar Approval

Name of sponsor/provider:________________________________________________________________ 	 Sponsor No.

Address:_______________________________________________________________________________ 	 ________________
	 Street address 	 City 	 State 	 ZIP code

Name of contact:________________________________________________________________________ 	 Date:

Telephone number:___________________________ Fax number:________________________________ 	 ________________
	 (include area code) 	 (include area code)

E-mail address:___________________________________ Other:_ _______________________________

		   	 Breaks & 
	 Title of course/seminar 	 Course length (Hrs)	 Lunch total (Hrs)

1._______________________________________________ 	 __________	 _________ 	 Code:_ __________

Instructor(s):____________________________________________________________________________ 	 ____________ Hrs.

Intended for: 	  	Technical Fire 	  	Technical Burglar 	  	Technical Locks 	  	Laws/Codes
	 	 Business 	 	 Safety 	 	 Electronic Security (C.C.T.V., Intercom, Access, etc.)
	  	Technical Residential Smoke Detection

2._______________________________________________ 	 __________	 _________ 	 Code:_ __________

Instructor(s):____________________________________________________________________________ 	 ____________ Hrs.

Intended for: 	  	Technical Fire 	  	Technical Burglar 	  	Technical Locks 	  	Laws/Codes
	 	 Business 	 	 Safety 	 	 Electronic Security (C.C.T.V., Intercom, Access, etc.)
	  	Technical Residential Smoke Detection

3._______________________________________________ 	 __________	 _________ 	 Code:_ __________

Instructor(s):____________________________________________________________________________ 	 ____________ Hrs.

Intended for: 	  	Technical Fire 	  	Technical Burglar 	  	Technical Locks 	  	Laws/Codes
	 	 Business 	 	 Safety 	 	 Electronic Security (C.C.T.V., Intercom, Access, etc.)
	  	Technical Residential Smoke Detection

4._______________________________________________ 	 __________	 _________ 	 Code:_ __________

Instructor(s):____________________________________________________________________________ 	 ____________ Hrs.

Intended for: 	  	Technical Fire 	  	Technical Burglar 	  	Technical Locks 	  	Laws/Codes
	 	 Business 	 	 Safety 	 	 Electronic Security (C.C.T.V., Intercom, Access, etc.)
	  	Technical Residential Smoke Detection

Attach a course outline (including its duration and the number of breaks) for each course and provide every instructor’s resume.

Office Use Only
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F.B.L. Course Codes
for Continuing Education Topics

(To be used when selecting the topics for the courses you submit.)

Technical Courses:

 TECLD  -  Technical - Lock Devices
 TECFA - Technical - Fire Alarm
 TECBA - Technical - Burglar Alarm
 TECBF - Technical - Burglar & Fire Alarm
 TECES - Technical - Electronic Security, C.C.T.V.,
   Intercom, Access & Misc.
 TECRF - Technical - Residential Smoke Detection

Safety Courses:

 SAF - Safety

Laws / Codes Courses:

 L/C - Laws & Codes

Business Courses:

 BUS - Business
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Sample Lesson Plan

Note

Each Continuing Education Unit (C.E.U.) is based on one hour of contact time not including breaks 
or lunch.

Class objective

A brief statement regarding the objectives of the course and what is hoped to be achieved by the course should be at 
the start of the lesson plan.

The lesson plan should be in outline form showing the sections of the lesson and then the key points to be covered by 
each section.  The time to complete each section should be shown on the outline; again, just classroom contact time.

	 1.	 Title		  (45 minutes)

			   a.	 Key point
			   b.	 Key point
			   c.	 Key point
			   d.	 Etc.

	 2.	 Title		  (45 minutes)

			   a.	 Key point
			   b.	 Key point
			   c.	 Key point
			   d.	 Etc.

	 3.	 Title		  (45 minutes)

			   a.	 Key point
			   b.	 Key point
			   c.	 Key point
			   d.	 Etc.

	 4.	 Title		  (45 minutes)

			   a.	 Key point
			   b.	 Key point
			   c.	 Key point
			   d.	 Etc.

	 5.	 Title		  (45 minutes)

			   a.	 Key point
			   b.	 Key point
			   c.	 Key point
			   d.	 Etc.

Total time including break 195 minutes, total contact time 180 minutes (3 hours).  Therefore, this is a three-credit 
C.E.U. course.
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