Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and Locksmith Advisory Committee
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need a license to install, service, or maintain burglar alarms, fire alarms or electronic security systems or to engage in the practice of locksmithing in New Jersey?
Yes. Public Law 1997, c.305, signed by Governor Whitman in 1998, requires that individuals and businesses obtain a license to provide these services.
How may I obtain a burglar alarm license, fire alarm license or locksmith license in New Jersey?
An applicant wishing to obtain an alarm or locksmith license in New Jersey must be at least 18 years of age and be of good moral character. Also, an applicant must hold a high school diploma or equivalency certificate or request a waiver of the requirement based upon the applicant's experience in the alarm or locksmith business.
All applicants must be fingerprinted and undergo a criminal history background check.
A conviction for certain crimes, committed within 10 years prior to applying for a license, or other factors, may be cause for disqualification.
All applicants must submit a separate application and application fee for each desired Committee-issued license. Additionally, all applicants must successfully complete a burglar alarm, fire alarm, or locksmith examination as a requirement to obtain said license(s). Specific practical experience and technical training requirements are listed in the Advisory Committee's rules which may be downloaded from this web site. Applications for alarm and locksmith licenses may also be downloaded from the Committee's web site.
I only want to install and service CCTV cameras which are viewable over the Internet and all wiring is "low voltage". Do I need a license for this work?
Yes. CCTV systems, intercom systems and other electronic monitoring devices are included in the definition of "electronic security system" and such work is regulated by the Advisory Committee. Electronic security system work is within the scope of practice for alarm and locksmith licensees. Please refer to N.J.A.C. 13:31A-1.2 for the full definition of "electronic security system" as well as other definitions pertinent to the scope of practice for licensees of the Advisory Committee.
I only want to install Home Theater Systems. Do I need any type of license or can I simply obtain a Limited Telecommunications Wiring Exemption from the Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors?
The professional installation of a Home Theatre System falls under the auspices of the Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors. While the Board issues licenses to Electrical Contractors, it does not have a separate license category for those who wish to engage in what is often erroneously referred to as "low voltage" work.
Additionally, Subchapter 4 of the regulations pertaining to Electrical Contracting covers licensure exemptions.
N.J.A.C. 13:31-4.1(b) states, in part, that "telecommunications wiring" means wiring for voice and/or data transmission. Any work other than wiring for voice and/or data transmission is not within the permissible scope of work for the holder a Limited Telecommunications Wiring Exemption. Please refer to the Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractor's web site to view the complete definition of Limited Telecommunications Wiring Exemption.
Please contact the Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors for more information.
My license is in Inactive status but I want to return to Active status now. What is the process and must I demonstrate completion of any continuing education credits?
A licensee, upon application to the Committee, may change from Inactive to Active status upon payment of the renewal fee and verification of the completion of continuing education requirements for the current renewal period within three years prior to the date of application.
Is a business license required to perform alarm or locksmithing services?
Yes. A business license is required for any business firm wishing to provide alarm and/or locksmithing services. Only a single application need be submitted whether the firm intends to provide services in the scope of one license category (locksmithing, burglar alarm or fire alarm) or any combination of the three license categories.
A business firm applying for business license must designate a licensee who will serve as the business qualifier. A business qualifier must be listed for each license category in which the business is seeking a license. A licensee may serve as business qualifier for more than one license category provided a license is held in each category.
How many companies can a business qualifier represent?
There is currently no limit on the number of companies a business qualifier can represent. However, the business qualifier must be able to provide proof that he/she can personally supervise all of the work that is performed by all of the employees of the businesses for which he/she intends to serve as business qualifier. Please review N.J.A.C. 13:31A-2.8, which can be found in the regulations section at this web site, for further information.
Is there any difference between the Fire Alarm "P" License and the "BF" License? What about renewal CEUs? I understand that CEUs are required for the "BF" license, but are CEU credits required for the "P" license?
Please contact the New Jersey Division of Community Affairs, Division of Fire Safety - Fire Protection Contractor Certification Unit, for information regarding this topic.
Division of Fire Safety or, call the Division of Fire Safety at (609) 633-8105.
As a consumer, how can I obtain information concerning whether an individual or business performing alarm, electronic security, or locksmith services is licensed?
A consumer may obtain licensing information here.
What will happen if I do not renew my license and I continue to work?
A license that is not renewed within 30 days of its expiration shall be automatically suspended pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13.31A-1.5(e). An individual who continues to practice with a suspended license shall be deemed to be engaged in unlicensed practice.
My license was suspended. How can I get it back?
It depends on the reason for suspension. If you were suspended because you failed to renew your license within 30 days of its expiration, then you must file a reinstatement application.
Where can I find a reinstatement application?
Applicants for reinstatement are required to demonstrate completion of continuing education requirements for the most recent triennial registration period within three years prior to the date of application for reinstatement, consistent with
N.J.A.C. 13:31A-1.12. A reinstatement application may be downloaded from this web site and must be completed and mailed back to the Committee. Anyone wishing to reinstate more than one Committee-issued license is required to complete a separate reinstatement application for each of those licenses. If you need more information regarding the reinstatement process please call the Committee at: (973) 504-6245.
Continuing Education Questions
How many continuing education credits am I required to obtain?
Please refer to
N.J.A.C. 13:31A-1.12 for complete details regarding continuing education requirements. In each triennial registration period, the holder of one Committee-issued license shall obtain 24 C.E. credits, including 10 credits as specified in
N.J.A.C. 13:31A-1.12(b). The holder of two Committee-issued licenses shall obtain an additional 14 credits relevant to the scope of practice for a total of 38 C.E. credits. The holder of three Committee-issued licenses shall obtain an additional 14 credits relevant to the scope of practice for a total of 52 C.E. credits. Be aware also that, included in these requirements, anyone holding a Burglar Alarm license shall obtain three credits pertaining specifically to smoke detection systems.
I will be renewing my license for the first time. Am I required to have earned continuing education credits?
No. Continuing education credits are not required of licensees for the triennial registration period in which their license was initially issued. Be aware, however, that on your renewal application you should respond "Yes" to the question asking if you have completed the required continuing education credits during the past three years.
What will happen if I am audited and I did not obtain my continuing education credits? On my renewal application I responded that I did obtain all of my credits?
If on your renewal application you responded "Yes" to the question asking if you have completed the required continuing education credits during the past three years and this response is found to be false, you may be required to appear before the Committee and you may be subject to penalties and/or suspension of your license pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 45.1-21 et. seq.
I am the holder of more than one Committee-issued license. May I apply any of the continuing education credits I have earned to meet the C.E. requirements for more than one of my licenses?
No. All licensees are required to obtain two hours of continuing education in each of five mandatory subject areas during each triennial registration period (Barrier Free Subcode, New Jersey Uniform Construction Code, Americans with Disabilities Act Code, Industrial Safety, and New Jersey law and rules governing the provision of burglar alarm, fire alarm and locksmithing services). If you hold two or three Committee-issued licenses these ten credits do not need to be repeated and only 14 additional credits are required for each of your second and, if applicable, third licenses. While many course credits might be deemed suitable for any of the licenses you hold, you may not use credits earned from a given course to meet the continuing education requirements of more than one Committee-issued license.
Is there a cutoff date by which I must have earned my continuing education credits as the license renewal deadline approaches?
To meet the requirements for both continuing education and on-time renewal, you must have earned the C.E. credits you need by August 31 of the year in which license renewal is required. Alternatively, you may complete any C.E. credits you might still need prior to renewing your license during the 30-day late renewal period. Be aware, however, that a late renewal fee of $50.00 will be charged if you renew your license during the 30-day late renewal period
Can I still renew my license(s) if I have not taken all of my continuing education credits?
Yes. If you have not completed the continuing education credits as needed, you may renew your license(s). Be aware, however, under these circumstances you are required to respond "No" to the renewal application question asking if you have completed the required continuing education credits during the past three years. Additionally, you may be required to appear before the Committee and you may be subject to penalties and/or suspension of your license pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 45.1-21 et. seq.
How do I make up continuing education credits?
If you did not earn all of the continuing education credits required prior to license renewal, you may take any Advisory Committee-approved C.E. courses to remediate your credit shortfall. Be aware, however, that credits earned to satisfy a C.E. deficiency in the last triennial registration period may not be used to also satisfy the requirements for the current triennial registration period. Additionally, you may still be required to appear before the Committee and you may be subject to penalties and/or suspension of your license pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45.1-21 et. seq.
I earned continuing education credits in excess of the number required for the last triennial registration period. May I use any of these credits to meet C.E. requirements for the current triennial registration period?
Yes. N.J.A.C. 13:31A-1.12(k) states that a licensee who obtains more than the required number of C.E. credits in any triennial registration period may carry over up to a total of eight credits, irrespective of the number of Committee-issued licenses held, into a succeeding triennial registration period.
I am a continuing education sponsor. Do courses which were approved in a previous triennial registration period need to be re-approved for presentation in ensuing triennial registration periods?
In most cases, the answer is no. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:31A-1.12(g), a sponsor of a course or program offering that has been previously approved by the Committee shall reapply to the Committee for approval of the course or program only if there are any changes to the course content, hours of instruction, or course lecturer. If there are no such changes, the sponsor shall not be required to reapply to the Committee prior to future offerings of the previously approved course or program.
What is the best way to correspond with the Committee? Is it by phone, e-mail, regular mail, certified mail, or by other means?
You may contact the Advisory Committee by any of the methods listed above. The easiest method, however, is to e-mail us by simply clicking on the Contact Us link on the home page of this website.
Last Modified: 10/9/2015 1:50 PM