New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs
New Jersey Board of Nursing
124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45010
Newark, New Jersey 07101
(973) 504-6430
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/nursing

Instructions for Reinstatement of a Lapsed License

In accordance with the Uniform Enforcement Act, a professional or occupational license or certificate of
registration may be reinstated, provided that the applicant otherwise qualifies for licensure, registration
or certification, and complies with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 45:1-7.2 a, b, ¢ and d. The necessary licensure
reinstatement application and materials may be downloaded from the Board of Nursing’s website and
include the following:

1. Reinstatement Application:

Complete the application, including the Certification and Authorization for a Criminal History
Background Check, attach a clear, full-face passport photograph (2"x 2”) of your head and
shoulders, taken within the past six months, with your name printed on the back of
the photo to the application and submit the application and the required fee(s) to:

New Jersey Board of Nursing
P.O. Box 45010
Newark, NJ 07101

2. Application Packet:

a.

b.

C.

d.

Application Fees:
N.J.S.A. 45:1-7.4a.

(1)
(2)

3

Payment of the renewal fee for the current biennial period.

Payment of the unpaid renewal fee for the biennial period immediately preceding the current
renewal period.

Payment of a reinstatement fee.

Certification of Employment:

(1)

Submit a signed and dated Certification of Employment that clearly indicates whether you
were engaged in your profession during the period that your license has been inactive. In
addition, the Certification of Employment must include the name, address and telephone
number of every employer by whom you were employed. If you were practicing your
profession during the period of inactivity, you must describe in detail the type of work or
projects with which you were involved.

Proof of Competency:

(1)

If applicable, satisfactory proof that you have maintained proficiency by completing the
continuing education hours or credits required for the renewal of an active license
or certificate of registration or certification (N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.2(i) 2).

N.J.S.A. 45:1-7.4e.

(1)

If a board review of an application for reinstatement or reactivation under this section
establishes a basis for concluding that there may be practice deficiencies in need of
remediation prior to reinstatement or reactivation, the board may require the applicant to
submit to and successfully pass an examination or an assessment of skills, a refresher
c?u/gse/, orother requirements as determined by the board prior to reinstatement or reactivation
of the license.



New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs
New Jersey Board of Nursing
124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45010
Newark, New Jersey 07101
(973) 504-6430
www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/nursing

N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.5 Fee Schedule

Licensure Reinstatement Fee

Original License Issued In An Original License Issued In An
Odd Numbered Year Even Numbered Year
Type of Fee License expired License expired: License expired License expired:
prior to: May 31, 2019 prior to: May 31, 2020
May 31, 2019 May 31, 2020
Current biennial
renewal fee $120.00 $120.00 $120.00 $120.00
Previous biennial
renewal fee $120.00 $120.00
Reinstatement fee $100.00 $100.00 $100.00 $100.00
ATD Surcharge $ 5.00 $ 5.00 $ 5.00 $ 5.00
Total $345.00 $225.00 $345.00 $225.00

Expiration date information is available on the Board of Nursing’s website under online verification tab.




Office Use Only

Attach a clear, full-face pass- Expiration date:

port-style photograph (2"x 2”) of
your head and s%oulders, taken

within the past six months, with Status:
your name printed on the back .
of the photo. New Jersey Office of the Attorney General | | crse number
) ) ) Division of Consumer Affairs
A photo is required with each New Jersey Board of Nursing Applicant number:
application. 124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45010
Do not use staples to attach Newark, New Jersey 07101 Effective date:
the photo (973) 504-6430

www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov/nursing

Application to Reinstate a Lapsed License

This application must be completed and returned to the New Jersey Board of Nursing
office before a clinical practice letter is issued.

Along with the submission of this completed application, all fees must be paid in the form of a check or money order made
out to the State of New Jersey (review Licensure Reinstatement Fee page). The fee(s) must be submitted with this application for
reinstatement (applicants should understand that if the fee is paid with a personal check, and the check is returned by the bank
due to insufficient funds, the next step in the reinstatement process will be delayed until the fee is paid).

The Division is precluded by law from disclosing to the public the place of residence of licensees or applicants, without their
consent. However, you are required to provide an address that may be released to the public in our directories or in response to
other requests (by putting a check in the appropriate box). If you provide your place of residence as your public address
of record, we will assume that you have consented to have that address be disclosed. If you do not consent to the disclosure of
your place of residence, you should provide an address of record other than your place of residence that may be released
to the public. One of your addresses must include a street, city, state and ZIP code.

Information that you provide on this application (including your address of record) may be subject to public disclosure as
required by the Open Public Records Act (OPRA).

Please print clearly. You must answer all of the questions on this application.

Personal Information Date of birth:
Month Day Year
1. Name
Last name First name Middle initial Maiden name
2. Address
[] Home:
Street or P.O. Box City State ZIP code County
Telephone number (include area code) E-mail address
[] Business:
Name of company Telephone number (include area code)
Street City State ZIP code County

[0 Mailing:

Street or P.O. Box City State ZIP code County



*Social Security No: - -

You must provide your Social Security number to the Board. Failure to do so will result in denial of licensure reinstatement.

*Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:50-24 et seq. of the New Jersey taxation law, N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.44e of the New Jersey Child
Support Enforcement Law, Section 1128E(b)(2)A of the Social Security Act and 45 C.ER. 60.7, 60.8 and 60.9, the Board
is required to obtain your Social Security number. Pursuant to these authorities, the Board is also obligated to provide
your Social Security number to:

a. the Director of Taxation to assist in the administration and enforcement of any tax law, including for the
purpose of reviewing compliance with State tax law and updating and correcting tax records;

b. the Probation Division or any other agency responsible for child support enforcement, upon request; and

c. the National Practitioner Data Bank and the H.I.P. Data Bank, when reporting adverse actions relating to health care
professionals.

Citizenship / Immigration Status

Federal law limits the issuance or renewal of professional or occupational licenses or certificates to U.S.
citizens or qualified aliens. To comply with this federal law, check the appropriate box below which indicates your
citizenship/immigration status. If you are not a U.S. citizen, attach a copy of your alien registration card (front and back) or
other documentation issued by the Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services (B.C.1.S.).

[] u.s. citizen
Alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in U.S.
[] Other immigration status

Questions about your immigration status and whether or not it is a qualifying status under federal law should be
directed to the B.C.1.S. at: 1-800-375-5283..

Child Support

Please certify, under penalty of perjury, the following:

a. Do you currently have a child-support obligation? [0 Yes [ No
(1) If “Yes,” are you in arrears in payment of said obligation? [0 Yes [JNo
(2) If “Yes,” does the arrearage match or exceed the total amount payable for the past six months?  [] Yes [] No

b. Have you failed to provide any court-ordered health insurance coverage during the past six months? [_]  Yes [] No

c.  Have you failed to respond to a subpoena relating to either a paternity or child-support proceeding? [[] Yes [] No

d. Are you the subject of a child-support-related arrest warrant? [] Yes [] No

In accordance with N.I.S.A. 2A:17-56.44d, an answer of “Yes” to questions a(1) through d will result in a denial of
reinstatement of licensure. Furthermore, any false certification of the above may subject you to a penalty, including, but
not limited to, immediate revocation or suspension of licensure.

Applicant’s name (please print) Applicant’s signature Date



[llegal Use of Controlled Dangerous Substances

The question below pertains to the illegal use of controlled dangerous substances. Please read the definitions carefully.
Your responses will be treated confidentially and retained separately. Please be aware that you have the right to elect not to
answer this question if you have reasonable cause to believe that answering may expose you to the possibility of criminal
prosecution. In that event, you may assert the Fifth Amendment privilege against self-incrimination. Any claim of Fifth
Amendment privilege must be made in good faith. If you choose to assert the Fifth Amendment, you must do so in writing.
You must fully respond to all other questions on the application. Your application for licensure or certification will be
processed if you claim the Fifth Amendment privilege against self-incrimination. You should be aware, however, that you
may later be directed by the Attorney General to answer a question that you have refused to answer on the basis on the Fifth
Amendment, provided that the Attorney General first grants you immunity afforded by statutory law, (N.I.S.A. 45:1-20).

“Currently” does not mean on the day of, or even in the weeks or months preceding the completion of this application.
Rather, it means recently enough so that the use of drugs may have an ongoing impact on one’s functioning as a licensee,
or within the previous 365 days, whichever is longer.

“Illegal use of controlled dangerous substance” means the use of a controlled dangerous substance obtained illegally
(e.g. heroin or cocaine) as well as the use of controlled dangerous substances which are not obtained pursuant to a valid
prescription or not taken in accordance with the directions of a licensed health care practitioner.

a. Areyou currently engaged in the illegal use of controlled dangerous substances? (As stated above, “currently” is defined as
“recently enough... [to] have an ongoing impact...” or “within the previous 365 days,” whichever is longer.)

[ Yes No
If you answered “Yes,” are you currently participating in a supervised rehabilitation program or professional assistance program
that monitors you in order to assure that you are not engaging in the illegal use of controlled dangerous substances?

Yes No

Applicant’s signature Date



10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

Have you ever changed your name? Oves O No
If “Yes,” please submit with this application a copy of the marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order.

Have you ever been summoned; arrested; taken into custody; indicted; tried; charged with; admitted into pre-trial intervention
(P.T.L); or pled guilty to any violation of law, ordinance, felony, misdemeanor or disorderly persons offense, in New Jersey, any other
state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction? (Parking or speeding violations need not be disclosed, but motor vehicle
violations such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be.) O Yes O No

Have you ever been convicted of any crime or offense under any circumstances? This includes, but is not limited to, a plea of
guilty, non vult, nolo contendere, no contest, or a finding of guilt by a judge or jury. O Yes 0O No

If “Yes,” provide a copy of the judgment of conviction and the release from parole or probation. Please provide a complete
explanation. (Attach additional sheets of paper to this application.)

Do you currently hold, or have you ever held, a professional license or certificate of any kind in New Jersey, any other state, the
District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction? OvYes 0O No

If “Yes,” for each license or certificate held, provide the date(s) held and the number(s). If the license or certificate was issued under

a different name, please provide that name.

Last name First name Middle initial
Type of license or certificate Number State or jurisdiction that issued the license or certificate Date issued/expired
Type of license or certificate Number State or jurisdiction that issued the license or certificate Date issued/expired
Type of license or certificate Number State or jurisdiction that issued the license or certificate Date issued/expired
Type of license or certificate Number State or jurisdiction that issued the license or certificate Date issued/expired
Type of license or certificate Number State or jurisdiction that issued the license or certificate Date issued/expire

Have you ever been disciplined or denied a nursing license or certificate of any kind in New Jersey, any other state, the District
of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction? OvYes 0O No

Have you ever had a professional license or certificate of any type suspended, revoked or surrendered in New Jersey, any other
state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction? O vYes 0O No

Has any action (including the assessment of fines or other penalties) ever been taken against your professional practice by any
agency or certification board in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction?

O vYes O No
Have you ever been named as a defendant in any litigation related to the practice of nursing or other professional practice
in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction? O ves O No

Are you aware of any investigation pending against a professional license or certificate issued to you by a professional board in New
Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other jurisdiction? O vYes O No

Are there any criminal charges now pending against you in New Jersey, any other state, the District of Columbia or in any other
jurisdiction? LI Yes No

Have you ever been sanctioned by or is any action pending before any employer, association, society, or other professional group
related to the practice of nursing or other professional practice in New Jersey, any other state, the District of
Columbia or in any other jurisdiction? Oves O No

If the answer to any of the above questions, numbers 11 through 17, is “Yes,” provide a complete explanation of the circumstances
leading to the action, and any supporting documentation, on separate sheets of paper.



CERTIFICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION

I, , in making this application to the Board or Committee
for reinstatement of my license or registration, certify that | am the applicant and that all of the information
provided in connection with this application is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. | understand that any omissions,
inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient to deny reinstatement or to withhold renewal of or
suspend or revoke a license or registration issued by the Board or Committee.

[ voluntarily consent to a thorough investigation of my present and past employment and other activities for the purpose
of verifying my qualifications for reinstatement. | further authorize all institutions, employers, agencies and all
governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release any information, files or records
requested by the Board or Committee.

[ certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. | am aware that if any of the foregoing statements made by me are
willfully false, I am subject to punishment.

Signature of applicant Date
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Employment Certification for the Reinstatement of a Lapsed License

Directions: Please complete this certification, sign and date it and return it to the New Jersey
Board of Nursing. If you have had more than two employers, please add additional sheets of paper
with the employment data. The Board may contact your employer(s) to verify your employment.

First name Middle name Last name Maiden name

Present Street Address City State ZIP Code

[ ]RN.  License No.

|:| L.P.N. License No.

[ ] APN. Certificate No.

Employment Data: (For the past five (5) years in New Jersey or in any other State.)

1.

Name of employing agency or facility

Street address

City State ZIP Code
Job Title Employment Dates: From To
Supervisor’s name Title Telephone No. (include area code)

Are you currently working as a nurse, or did you work as a nurse while your license was
lapsed or expired?

|:| Yes

[ INo

Provide an explanation:

(Sign and date reverse side)



Did you work as a nurse while your license was inactive?

|:| Yes
No

Provide an explanation:

Were you terminated or asked to resign?

E Yes
No

Provide an explanation:

Name of employing agency or facility

Street address

ZIP Code

City State

Job Title Employment Dates: From To

Title Telephone No. (include area code)

Supervisor’'s name
Are you currently working as a nurse, or did you work as a nurse while your license was

inactive?

D Yes
No

Provide an explanation:

Did you work as a nurse while your license was inactive?

|:| Yes
No

Provide an explanation:

Were you terminated or asked to resign?

|:| Yes
|:| No

Provide an explanation:

Applicant’s name (Please print) Applicant’s signature Date
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Dear Applicant:

In November 2003, legislation was passed that requires the Division of Consumer Affairs to conduct criminal
history record background checks on all health care professionals prior to the issuance of an initial license or
other authorization to practice a health care profession (N.J.S.A.45: 1-28 et seq.). The records of the Division
show that you are a current applicant for licensure or certification as a health care professional, and as such,
the Division must arrange to conduct a criminal history check of your background.

In order for the Division to conduct a criminal history record background check, you must complete the
enclosed Certification and Authorization form and return it to the mailing address above.

(In-State Applicants)

Upon receipt of the completed Certification and Authorization form, the Board will forward your information
about how to schedule an appointment with MorphoTrust, Inc., to have your fingerprints electronically
recorded. A $62.70 fingerprinting fee must be paid to MorphoTrust, at the time of fingerprinting. The
$62.70 payment should be in the form of a check or money order made payable to MorphoTrust.

(Out-of-State Applicants)

Upon receipt of the completed Certification and Authorization form, the Board will forward you one state
and one federal fingerprint card. Out-of-state applicants must have their fingerprints recorded, on the cards
provided, by their local police department, by their state police department or by their local law enforcement
agency. You must return the fingerprint cards to the Board or Committee with the required fee. Applicants
submitting fingerprint cards will be required to pay a $58.69 fee to have their fingerprints scanned into the
electronic system by MorphoTrust. The $58.69 should be in the form of a check or money order made
payable to MorphoTrust.

If you fail to complete and return the Certification and Authorization form, your application for licensure or
certification will not be processed and your application will be considered abandoned.

The New Jersey Board of Nursing



New Jersey Board of Nursing
Licensure Reinstatement

Request for Nurse Refresher Course: Clinical Practice Letter
Purpose:
This request form is for a New Jersey nurse who is reinstating a lapsed nursing license to

obtain permission to complete the clinical component of a Nurse Refresher Course for licensure
reinstatement.

Directions: Please complete this request form and return it to:

New Jersey Board of Nursing
P.O. Box 45010
Newark, N.J. 07101
Attn: Sameerah Bond

Name of Applicant: New Jersey License Number:

Date of Initial Licensure: Date of Licensure Expiration:

Name of Nurse Refresher Course Institution:

City: State: ZIP Code:

Course Dates: Clinical Practice Dates:

Name of Agency for Clinical Practice:

City: State: ZIP Code:

Signature of Licensee: Date:

Signature of Nurse Refresher
Course Instructor: Date:




New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs
New Jersey Board of Nursing
124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45010
Newark, New Jersey 07101
(973) 504-6430

Continuing Education Compliance Report Form

Name: R.N. License Number:
L.P.N. License Number:

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true to the best of my knowledge. I am aware that if any of the
foregoing statements made by me are willfully false, I am subject to punishment, including but not limited to suspension or
revocation of a license and/or certification under N.J.S.A. 45:1-21.

Signature:
Title of Program : Contact
Attach copies of the certificates* Date Program Provider Hours
. . Total
A total of 30 contact hours is required.

*Attach a copy of the program certificate of completion/attendance (usually one page) for each listing noted
above to add up to 30 contact hours. Please refer to N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3 for information regarding approved C.E.U.
providers. Please note: The required 30 C.E.U.’s must be related to Nursing. (www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov)




fficial Use Only Official Use Only
Dual License
License Type 1 I:l Resubmit
Applicant’s Number New Jersey Office of the Attorney General Board or Committee

Division of Consumer Affairs

New Jersey Board of Nursing
License Type 2 P.O. Box 45010
Newark, New Jersey 07101

(973) 504-6430
Applicant’s Number

CERTIFICATION AND AUTHORIZATION FORM
For A CRiMINAL HISTORY BACKGROUND CHECK

Directions: Answer all of the questions on this form.

Name 0O Mr ( )

D Mrs. Last First Middle Maiden Name

O Ms.
Address

Street or P.O. Box City State ZIP code
Dateofbirth _ _ /  _ / Sex: I:l Male |:| Female
Month Day Year

Social Security number / /

Have you completed the fingerprinting process for any Board or Committee of the New Jersey Division of Consumer
Affairs since November 2003? O Yes 0O No

If “No,” you will receive a separate mailing from the Board or Committee regarding the criminal history record background
check process. No payment is necessary as of now.

If “Yes,” please provide the following information and follow the instructions outlined below:

Board or committee requiring the fingerprinting Month and year you were fingerprinted

If you were fingerprinted after November 2003 as part of the criminal history background process for licensure or
certification by any other Board or Committee of the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (a background check
conducted for the Department of Education, another state agency or another state does not apply) you will not be required to
be fingerprinted a second time. However, the Division must perform a criminal history background check each time you apply
for licensure or certification. The fee for this service is $18.75. Payment should be made in the form of a check or money
order payable to the State of New Jersey and should accompany your application packet.

Have you ever been arrested and/or convicted of a crime or offense? (Minor traffic offenses such as a parking or speeding
violations need not be listed.) O Yes O No

Every such conviction on record must be disclosed. A true copy of every police report, judgment of conviction, sentencing
order and termination of probation order, if applicable, must be submitted with this form. Any documents (including employer
or supervisor letters of reference, if applicable) which present clear and convincing evidence of rehabilitation must be submitted
with this form. Failure to follow these instructions may result in the denial of an initial application.

Note: Copies of judgments, sentencing and termination of probation orders may be obtained from the clerk of the county
where those orders, disposing of the conviction, were issued and filed.

Your continuing responsibility to disclose convictions of crimes or offenses: You must notify the Board or Committee
within five (5) business days if you are convicted of any crimes or offenses after this form has been completed.

Continuation on the reverse side =



CERTIFICATION

L, , in making this application to the Board or Committee for
certification or licensure, certify that I am the applicant and that all of the information provided in connection with this
application is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full
disclosures may be deemed sufficient to deny certification or licensure or to withhold renewal of or suspend or revoke a certificate
or license issued by the Board or Committee.

I voluntarily consent to a thorough investigation of my present and past employment and other activities for the purpose
of verifying my qualifications for certification or licensure. I further authorize all institutions, employers, agencies and all
governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release any information, files or records
requested by the Board or Committee.

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. [ am aware that if any of the foregoing statements made by me are
willfully false, I am subject to punishment.

Signature of applicant Date

Rev. 1/2/19
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