New Jersey’s Law Against Price Gouging is Now in Effect.
This law prohibits excessive price increases during a declared state of emergency, or for 30 days after the termination of the state of emergency. Excessive price increases are defined as price increases that are more than 10 percent higher than the price at which merchandise was sold during the normal course of business prior to the state of emergency. Consumers who believe they were targeted by a scheme related to COVID-19 or who believe that businesses have unfairly increased their prices are encouraged to
file a complaint online or call 973-504-6240. Consumers should leave their name, contact information, nature of the complaint and the name and address of the business.
Division of Consumer Affairs Office Closure to the Public
Please be advised that the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (DCA) has temporarily closed its offices to the public until further notice, to mitigate the spread of the COVID-19 virus.
If you have business to conduct with the DCA offices, please call
1-800-242-5846 and follow the prompts to speak with a representative for the Board/Unit you need assistance from, or visit
NJConsumerAffairs.gov to find the phone number or email address to contact a specific Board/Unit directly.
Last Modified: 3/29/2020 6:04 AM