Elevator, Escalator, and Moving Walkway Mechanics Licensing Board
If you have previously mailed your application to the Board and you are uncertain of its status or if you are a new applicant, please email a copy of your application and have your school send an electronic official transcript directly to the email address listed below on this home page.
Please specify in the body of your email that your application or other documents were mailed to the Board or Committee. If your application requires it to be notarized you will be emailed a certification in lieu of the notarization. Please email that certification back to the Board. You will receive information regarding the application and licensure fee upon review of your application.
The Division of Consumer Affairs (Division) is warning all licensed professionals about individuals impersonating New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (DCA) investigators, Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) agents, DEA investigators, New Jersey Drug Control Unit investigators, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) investigators, and other law enforcement personnel, as part of an extortion scheme.
>The impersonators are contacting licensees by telephone, stating that they are the subject of an investigation. The callers are demanding money to clear up the matter, or threatening to revoke the individual’s license. Please be advised that the Division of Consumer Affairs will not contact licensees by telephone to discuss investigations or demand money.
Anyone receiving a telephone call from a person purporting to be any of the abovementioned individuals seeking money, should refuse the demand. We encourage you to report the call to the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) at FTCComplaintAssistant.gov.
You may also report the call to the Division atAskConsumerAffairs@lps.state.nj.us.
P.L. 2012, c. 71 (S612) created the Elevator, Escalator, and Moving Walkway Mechanics Licensing Board within the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs. Licenses to engage in work as an elevator, escalator, and moving walkway contracting are not yet available. The law includes a "grandfathering" provision that authorizes the Board to issue a Elevator, Escalator, and Moving Walkway Mechanics license without examination under certain circumstances. To afford contractors the full 12 months within which to make application, the 12 month grandfathering period will begin when regulations adopted by the Board become effective.
Last Modified: 7/20/2020 5:55 AM