New Jersey Board of Nursing
Frequently Asked Questions
Continuing Education Questions
How many continuing education ("CE") credits must I complete in order to renew my nursing license?
Each licensee must complete a minimum of 30 hours of CE credits during the two-year period preceding renewal. For example, in order to renew a license in May 2019, a licensee must have completed 30 hours of CE credits between June 1, 2017 and May 31, 2019.
I'm retired. Am I required to complete CE?
Yes. You must complete all of the required CE credits if you want to maintain an active nursing license. You may place your license in inactive status if you will
not be returning to nursing practice. While your license is inactive, you will not have to complete CE courses. However, you will have to go through the reactivation process to return to active license status.
I do not practice nursing in New Jersey. Am I required to complete CE?
Yes. You must complete all of the required CE credits if you want to maintain an
active nursing license in this State. You may place your license in inactive status if you do not practice in this State. While your license is inactive, you will not have to complete CE courses. However, you will have to go through the reactivation process to return to active license status.
What types of continuing education courses are approved by the Board?
Continuing education courses related to nursing must be approved by a credentialing agency accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or provided by an entity certified by the International Association for Continuing Education Training (IACET). For the types of courses the Board will accept, please see
N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(d)1-15, which is available on the Board's website under the link
Laws and Regulations.
Must I attend an in-person CE class or may I complete my credits through an online class?
CE credits may be obtained through successful completion of online courses. Please remember to download and retain your certificates of completion.
I complete continuing education courses through my employer. Do those courses satisfy the Board's CE requirement?
The Board will accept courses completed through your employer provided that the courses carry a credit-hour designation, i.e., one credit hour for each 60 minutes of attendance, and the employer provides you with a certificate of successful completion.
How long do I have to keep my CE certificates?
The Board recommends that you retain CE certificates for at least five years.
Will the Board ever ask for copies of my CE certificates?
The Board may request copies of your continuing education certificates for various reasons, such as a random CE audit or during a disciplinary investigation.
What are the consequences of failing to satisfy my CE requirement?
The Board may impose sanctions by public order pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 45:1-21 and 45:1-22.
May I carry over any CE credits if I complete more credits than required during the renewal period?
A licensee may carry over up to 15 additional continuing education credits into the next renewal period.
Opioid Continuing Education Requirement
As a condition of biennial license renewal, all registered professional nurses and all licensed practical nurses must complete one (1) credit of continuing education concerning prescription opioid drugs, including alternatives to opioids for managing and treating pain, and the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion.
Last Modified: 2/21/2019 5:44 AM